I just found out I'm Senegalese by tracing my DNA

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Senegal Flag.png

All of my life I have wondered where did I originally come from. Being from New Jersey in a very diverse place where it's so many cultures I would see all of my friends celebrate their different cultures and scream at the top of their lungs during the World Cup supporting their family homeland.

As we all know during the trans Atlantic slave trade millions of West Africans were stolen and sold for free labor in the Americas and Caribbeans. With this, millions of people lost their identities and cultures. Even though many Africans brought some of it's culture to the Americas they kept getting sold off and split up from their families.

Through DNA we have got our history and stories back. I took the African Ancestry test where they have tested over 30,000 different ethnic groups on the continent. After a long 10 weeks I found out on my maternal side I'm from the Mandinka tribe living in Senagal today.

Monument to african renaissance senegal africa sculpture statue.jpg

Senegal is the furthest west point of the continent. It's very rich in culture. The beaches are very beautiful and tourism is always booming. The National language is French but you will find many languages spoken by different ethnic groups such as the Wolof's and Mandinka's.

I am planning my trip next September to see where my roots started. I am waiting for my results on my fathers side. I should have it by this October.

Sort:  

Hello c4rest

Whats up @qmarpot sorry I've been on vacation. Hows everything with you?

Source
#introduceyourself/#introducemyself

The “introduceyourself/introducemyself” tag is for creating one introductory post that tells us about you. Users are encouraged to use this tag exclusively for that, and not to reuse it.

More information:

The Game of Tags

I'm introducing myself as what I just found out. I am telling people about myself. Who are you to tell people about this platform and what a tag is suppose to be?

Venture to Senegal, find thy roots
Which crept from sea afar.
To land of sweeping alchemy
Where serf sits with the czar.

@c4rest

Wise words. I love it.

Welcome to Steem, @c4rest!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3155 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.20: Utopian + SteemPlus Partnership = Bigger upvotes.

Welcome to Steem! Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem and we upvote our users to help them grow! Please feel free to download the Android app here and the iOS app here.

To learn more about us and stay connected with us, please join our Discord server here: https://discord.gg/N7Et97G

Welcome to steemit @c4rest.

  • Join @minnowsupport project for more help
  • Checkout @helpie for daily trivias and useful information
  • Join @qurator a good quality support project
  • Checkout @steembasicincome
  • Help us save the forest with @treeplanter
    Follow me @tuanis for random votes daily please checkout the report
    Welcome the new steemians. Have a great day!

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61451.22
ETH 2929.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65