The story of my life - A Brazilian fashion bastard in the pursuit of happiness

in #life6 years ago

post1.jpg

Hello all,

This is my first post on Steemit, and I can say I am very excited with the prospects of this amazing platform and community.

Sorry if this is a boring post, I just feel like giving some information so you can have a little idea of the person I am.

Basics about me

I was born and raised in São Paulo, Brazil, by wonderful super hard working, loving and protective parents.

Although I was born in 1988, many people think I am 17 years old, which of course is insane. I know I look way younger than I am, but c'mon folks.

I am a practical, sweet, INTP, futurist, believer of cryptocurrency, hater of banks, liberal in the political compass (tending to the left-libertarianism side). I love flowers, art, music, drawing, having time for my own, playing COD with my babe. I don't like alcohol, coffee and spicy tastes and I admire imensively Elon Musk. I believe I have non diagnosed dyslexia, but I don't mind.

Sorry about my English mistakes, I try my best and I am happy to know what I am doing wrong.

Youth and School

Since I was little, I have always liked to draw. I never did well in school, except for Geometry.
Actually I had to retake the first year of high school for failing it. In that year I improved a lot my drawing skills by doing it in class instead of paying attention to the teacher.
I also didn't do any homework, and I now know how important that is to learning, but oh well, I wasn't really interested in learning things that wouldn't be useful for my life.

When I was 14 yo I was very depressed. I don't remember why, but I remember thinking that it was probably a "teenager phase" and just had to hang on.
I would wake up with the puffiest eyes ever and not know why. Later in life I realised it was because of crying during the night.
I loved and was extremely addicted to The Cure. It was everything to me. I still love them, but don't listen to it very often.

I was also quite into HTML and Photoshop for having a blog and creating my own templates and everything. I really think that if I had gotten more into that and made of it my career, I would be way better off. I forgot everything and find it boring now.

I think I was considered "alternative" in school. I guess people couldn't really understand my group of friends consisted of a pseudo goth (me), a ballerina, a skateboarder, and two Japanese lovely girls that I have no idea how to label. And also for going out with THE popular guy and not hanging out at all with his group.

Uni

I was really in doubt about what major I should do. Could be Medicine, Engineering, Architecture, anything. I narrowed it down to Graphic Design and Fashion Design. It made sense to me since I liked drawing. I was accepted in both Unis I applied for and decided for Fashion Design.

It was the best time. I really loved Uni. All the work I had to do, the friends who only spoke about the same things you were into. All good. Maybe even the sleepless nights doing work.
It is just so good to be producing something new. I miss that.

Also had my first job designing for a menswear company while doing the last year of Uni.

After Uni - Going to Australia and back

2010 I finished Uni, couldn't find a job and really hated São Paulo.
I went to Melbourne to study English. Spent 6 months studying and in the last month I went to Sidney and Wellington in New Zealand to see a friend.

Now, yeah, THAT was the best time of my live. I was so in love with the city. Melbourne was a perfect São Paulo. No violence, no traffic, no crowded public transport. Lots of green areas, young interesting people, romance and a sense of freedom.

I didn't want to go back to Brazil, but I had to. Poor friends of mine. Listening to my complains about São Paulo and my love for Melbourne for 2 whole years. That was my shock/depressed/processing period.

Anyway. When I was back I got a job in one lame company and they didn't keep me after the probation. Said I would be better off somewhere "more fashionable". And after that, happily I got a job in a great terrible company with several friends working there. It didn't last long too, less than a year. I guess I didn't adapt to their sense of humour.

Eurotrip and finding love

After leaving the great terrible company, my dear friend wanted to have holidays in Europe and asked me to go with her. I has in doubt, but I had some money from being made redundant, so ok, we went on a Eurotrip.

Had such a wonderful time. Fernanda was the best company. We were laughing the whole time.

I gonna be short here, it is a long story about this trip and I can leave it for a different post, but that was when I met my love in the hostel in Berlin.

Back from Holidays

Back at Brazil, I was job searching again and, knowing people, no matter what they say, is THE way to get a job.
Anyways, I got this great job desiging for one of Billabong's brands in their Brazilian HQ.
I was really happy with it. Finally was happy with a job, the company and colleagues. I improved the sales of the brand I was designing for and it was all great. Until recession and over 60% of the company being made redundant.

That wasn't exactly super bad, because now I had time to go to Europe and spend time with my boyfriend.
I was doing freelance work (not a lot though), and finally after we got married and had everything ready, I moved to London with him.

Living in the UK

I think it took one year to adapt to the British way of living.
It has been almost two years since I moved.
I still haven't managed to find a job in my field.
I work in retail and that kills me because I feel like a trained monkey. My mind is not challenged and the wage is low.
It is just very frustrating to spend that much time devoted to do something like that.

I want to work in Merchandising and I am trying to get an entry level job in it.
It would help if I didn't suck on interviews. I get SO nervous.
But to be honest, I was only invited for ONE interview until now. Through an agency.
I have no idea why. I mean, my CV is not bad. What am I missing?

The future

Ok, now lets think about the beautiful future. Hopefully a near future.

Career

Option A) Hopefully I will get a job in Merchandising and grow in the field.
Option B) I will finally start the silly business I have been thinking about for the last 8 years and it will be very successful.
Option C) I will suddenly earn loads of money and live from passive income.

Social life

My love life will remain amazing like it is.
I will make more significant lovely interesting friends.
I will visit my family in Brazil at least once a year.

Health

I will finally book an appointment with the GP and they will say I am super healthy.
I will suddenly enjoy excising and no longer be sedentary.

Other stuff

I will get back to drawing.
I will have a driverless car. Driving is such a waste of time and energy.
I don't want to be addicted to Steemit.

.
.
.

Thank you who read my story. (If anyone did it)
I appreciate and words from you.
I intend to make more posts of nice pictures I have taken and old drawings I have made. Let me know what else content you would like to see from me.

Love,

c7407

Sort:  

Hi, I just UPVOTED your post as a welcoming gift. Nice to meet you and welcome to steemit. I would like to guide you to a post named STEEMIT TIPS FOR YOUR SUCCESS!!. I believe it will help you.

Please don’t forget to follow me @sryashbd666. Already I am following you.

Thank You Sryash. I am following you back.

Nice posts, see my latest challenge, guess the location and win 0.1 SBD every week: https://steemit.com/whereisthis/@maryarez/whereisthis-challenge-1-participate-to-win-0-1-sbd

I have no clue where that place is!!

Congratulations @c7407! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60777.49
ETH 2913.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59