Helicopter Parenting

in #life6 years ago

IMG_2601.PNG

Yesterday, I let my nine month old son bump his head on a wall.


I thought I'd let that sink in for a minute. I know some of you are having a full blown meltdown right now. He was army crawling across the floor. I saw the wall ahead of him and I made the choice to let him bump his head. He wasn't going fast enough to actually hurt himself. It wasn't a corner. He realized there was something ahead and thought before proceeding. He chose to risk it, tapping his head on the wall. He whined for a second and went about his business. Next time, I imagine he will turn around instead.

Why? Why would I do such a horrible thing? I did it because I teach entitled preteens and teenagers every day. I deal with their parents, who breathe down my neck, making sure their baby doesn't get slighted in any way. I watch them fix every single problem that their child has. Some of these kids are afraid to order food or actually have a conversation on a phone!

This new breed of human is terrifying to me. It isn't the kid’s fault. They are a product of their environment. They are perfect because their parents have told them they were since birth. These kids can not be singled out, unless it is for praise. They are so narcissistic, they can turn a lesson or lecture projected at an entire class into a jab at them. Sometimes, the scenarios that are created by parent and child border on insanity.

Why did I let my son hit the wall? He needs to learn his boundaries. Why didn't I run to his rescue? I want him to learn. Sometimes, learning means hitting the wall, physically or mentally. Am I going to let him stick his hand in a fire? Hell no! There is a time and a place. Real danger constitutes yelling, swatting, or grabbing him by the foot, if need be.

I will never tell my son he is perfect, because he isn't. No one is.

If I get a call from a teacher, I will assume my son was in the wrong, unless proven otherwise. The teacher is an adult. My son is a stupid kid, who has to learn from his mistakes.

If my son wants to quit something, he will go tell the coach or teacher to their face. Until that happens, he won't quit.

I will love him always. I love him so much sometimes, I feel like my heart is going to explode. I think he is the most perfect creature on this earth. I love him enough not to tell him I think he is perfect, and I love him enough to let him bump his head.

Sort:  

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

I love this. I agree with every single word. Maybe I took this too far with my own kids. Maybe I didn't. They're both fully functioning, independent adults today. Perfect? Hell, no. But those walls they hit as kids kept them from a lot of headaches as adults.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97