The Slip-up

in #life6 years ago

I’ve slipped up --on many accounts.

For some reason, lately I’ve been thinking about those slip-ups more than usual.

accident-994007_1280.jpg

Photo source: pixabay.com

After all, I’m currently miserable. By the end of post, I hope I’ll feel better.

One recent slip-up (and the topic of this particular blog post) is that I have not been writing anything here for a long while – over 2 months. After my writing came to a screeching halt, I eventually began to realize how much it was helping me psychologically and what a mistake it was for me to stop. I didn’t immediately recognize my lack of writing as the reason for slipping into the abyss again, but after stepping back and honestly assessing myself, I realized how obvious it was. Being busy at work was my justification for abandoning my writing, yet it’s those busy times when I need my writing the most.

One wouldn’t think regurgitating thoughts onto a blog post would make a positive difference in mood stability and mental health, but it has for me.

I’m a firm believer that anytime my emotions are out of whack, I and only I have the capability to re-center myself and become productive again. No one else has the true ability or unconditional desire to heal me no matter how much they might want to.

I’ve tried giving it a bit of extra thought as to why it would make such a difference to me whether or not I expose my emotions to complete strangers on the Internet. I’ll continue sharing pieces of myself with the cold, harsh world that seems to be indifferent to my existence, precisely because it’s indifferent.

And you know… It doesn’t even matter to me whether or not anyone leaves a comment on this post.

Here I am. Writing. What matters is that I feel some sort of therapeutic relief again – some sort of structure in a world that feels like it’s collapsing all around me.

Sort:  

I’m a firm believer that anytime my emotions are out of whack, I and only I have the capability to re-center myself and become productive again

This is a very healthy outlook, and I realized that after I began taking control of my own happiness and emotions things improved greatly for me.

I too have noticed the connection between writing and emotional health - I want to be proud of myself and create things that I'm proud of.

Creating things we're proud of, whether it's a piece of writing or anything else, is something I'm starting to see less and less among people because laziness and apathy have crept up on them. There's so much stress and anxiety in most peoples' lives - no wonder they can barely handle day-to-day tasks.

In addition to my writing, I'm creating an e-commerce website from scratch, including becoming an expert at SEO and that's really helping me feel a sense of purpose and pride.

It's beneficial to many corporations to keep people distracted and non-producing. I don't mean to go all conspiracy theory, but apathy in general is often encouraged.

I'm glad you're starting a website - it's a pretty fun and rewarding endeavor although I've never dug too deep. As humans we're meant to have purpose, and create projects. It's a part of us intrinsically.

Make sure to take breaks while studying SEO. It's essential for your sanity. And know that even on your own website, yes, it is ok to post some things that aren't optimized...ug, its a crazy, all encompassing field. I don't consider myself an expert but have been involved in various parts of the field since 2006, so I know a couple things lol. It's never been a tougher nut to crack than now....good luck with all your endeavors - SEO can be lucrative, especially if you learn the data side...I've always been on the kw research, basic strategy, writing side...(far less $)

Right there with you ;-) Isn't it funny how quickly we abandon our creative/sanity/whateverwereallyneed outlets - when they are as essential to our well-being as paying the bills?

Great to see you back at it @cali-girl. I'd noticed you haven't been around. Let me say you're not alone. I've been out of the game for blocks of time too recently and felt guilt over it.

I've been posting daily again for maybe 4 or 5 days now and, like you, I think I've again benefited fromt he engagement and routine.

That said, don't feel like you have done the wrong thing by taking a break. Whether it's work or just the need to look elsewhere for a while, for no reason, it can be healthy in the long run.

They say professional body builders who hit a plateau can stimulate further growth from actually halting weight training for a week or so to facilitate a deeper physical recovery. Often then they're stronger when they return. Less can be more and I don't see why our minds are any different.

So welcome back! Glad you're around again.

Hi @nolnocluap! Glad to see you're still around! :)

I wouldn't say it's guilt I've felt for abandoning my writing, but rather, a feeling of unhealthy levels of cortisol shooting through my body with no means of escape. I think you're right about taking a break, though. It wasn't a bad thing, but I didn't come back soon enough.

Glad to see you back to making a post. Have a wonderful week!

Writing is extremely therapeutic for me too. I started writing in journals in sixth grade and have kept one ever since. It helps get emotions out, but it can also bring a lot of perspective to various situations. I don’t write everyday, but often enough. It’s a very affordable hobby and you can do it anywhere! As far as Steemit, I mainly do horror movie posts or gardening stuff. I don’t post a ton, but I did one last night.... first one in a while! I do read and vote pretty regularly though. I like your stuff, keep it up.

It sounds like you keep your emotions in check on a consistent basis; that's great!

should have never stopped cuz I missed you!

I missed you too BB!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69768.04
ETH 3884.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73