A story of self-preservation “I WAS LEFT TO FIGHT JAWS! ALL ALONE!”steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

Greeting!

Today I would like to share a true story that happen to me on my first trip to Florida. To give a little bit of context to this story. The movie JAWS! was released in June 20, 1975, Jaws 2 in June 16, 1978, and Jaws 3 on July 22, 1983 and my wife saw them all, including the one we both saw in 1987. My wife hates sharks because of these movies. Subsequent movies released later did nothing but reinforce her fear of sharks. On with the story!

I was eighteen and a newlywed. My grandparents gave my new bride and I, use of their Florida condo for a while until we figured out what we wanted to do with our lives.

Unaccustomed to the Florida weather we walked on the beach enjoying each others company. Chasing the hermit crabs across the beach at dusk. What we did not realize, was that the overcast skies still caused sunburn. We received the hot penalty for not using sunblock. We were toasted! As red as a pair of freshly cooked lobsters. We spent the following few weeks trying different concoctions to relieve the pain we were experiencing. Eventually it turned to a nice protective tan.

We were married in 1983 so with Jaws 3 only released three weeks before, it was fresh in my wife’s mind. We were on the beach again in the late afternoon into early evening. We went for a swim in the Atlantic ocean, being newlyweds and enjoying each others company and all that goes with that. We slowly move deeper in the surf. Before we realized it my wife was chin deep while hanging onto me and I was chest deep with no apprehension of either of us being so far out in the surf.

I felt a strong pressure clamp around my big toe. I must have had a horrified look on my face because what I saw on my wife's face was worry with a strong dose of panic. To this day I do not remember if I released a scream or not. I released my hold on my wife so I could reach down to find out what was causing the pressure on my toe. It turned out to be a crab that I stepped on. It released its grip when I brought my foot up to the surface. I had never seen or heard my wife leave my side when all the chaos started. I swear that my wife had/has the ability to walk on water because when I saw her next she was standing on the beach crying and pacing back and forth. You have to remember all this happen in a few seconds span of time and we were in about five feet of water. I WAS LEFT TO FIGHT JAWS! ALL ALONE!


Picture from http://www.sharksavers.org

In my wife’s defense though she did the only natural, instinctual thing she could do. Survive! I cannot tell you what she felt, what she was thinking at that particular moment in time. What I can tell you is, it has increased our love for each other if nothing else. After that day I do not remember going more than a few feet deep into the ocean on that coast. We found out later that the east coast of the United States is a main travel route for great white sharks looking for seals to eat. With the internet today, you can track tagged sharks in real time through http://www.ocearch.org/#about-us .

I hope you enjoyed this story it is 100% @carpenterbee content. (1% non content) The picture has been linked to it’s source. I have no claim on it what-so-ever.

Peace to all and have a great day!


my avatar image provided by http://www.clker.com/clipart-teal-bee.html

Steemit-woodworkers-carpenterbee-small.pngSteemit-Beekeepers-carpenterbee.png

my bee keeping & carpentry badge graphics provided by @daddykirbs

All Content on this blog is 100% @carpenterbee in thought and action


all non original content is linked to it’s source when it is used

If you would like Up-vote, resteem, and Follow me @carpenterbee

Sort:  

Haha, you got me. I can't believe your wife dropped you so quick. nice story. I'm out of voting power or I would vote. I need to store it back up.

Thanks, with so many years past it's become a funny moment when we look back on it. I thought others might enjoy it. If your out of voting power for the day resteem it will also help. Gets the story more views. its the little greyed out button next to reply :-)

Good story lol. I am glad that you both survived. Yes, when it comes down to it, run for your life and wish the spouse the best haha!

Thanks, lol when in nature always have a slower person with you that you can out run. that sounds soooo bad lol. Well that story could have turned out differently that day, I'm also glad it did not. Resteem it please so it gets more views! thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68313.70
ETH 3663.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66