How to Figure out What You Should Be Doing for the Rest of Your Life!

in #life7 years ago

What should I be doing for the rest of my life? This is a question that everyone asks themselves. Of course, the exact answer to the question is going to vary from person to person. This post is more for the younger people, but even if you're 50, 30-40 years is still a long time. The funny thing is, I personally don’t know the answer to that question for myself; meaning, I personally don’t know what industry I’ll be in 10 years from now, but what I DO know is what I want my destination to look like.

CashPlays_TheyWillKillYou_Taipei.JPG

Talking shop and life with @TheyWillKillYou

We all need to be working towards something RIGHT NOW, and really the question is, “What should I be working towards in life, RIGHT NOW?” Now, the answer to that question can be easily found through a logical process I'm going to go into below.

Life is ultimately about maximizing our happiness during our time on earth. The answer to achieving happiness effectively means being as efficient as possible. However, I won't go into it now since being efficient is another topic, meaning it'll be covered in another post. Anyways, what ultimately makes all of us happy is actually quite universal when you go really high up in the overview. Having great health, great relationships, and lots of money are essential to maximizing our happiness.

CashPlays-Olga-David.JPG

Fake mustaches with Olgarita and Pepe!

Health is number 1, because without your health you basically can’t do or enjoy anything in life. Having great relationships is number 2 because ultimately, we all need, at the very least, one person in our life to share experiences and memories with. Money comes in at number 3, because money means freedom. Now, everyone’s going to be different in each department; for example, the minimum amount of money required to give me max freedom in life is going to be different from yours for example. I might prefer a more expensive lifestyle than you, and vice versa. The specifics in each of these areas are what make us individuals. Once a person has all three areas covered, basically everything else in life is whatever.

CashPlays-Luxury-House.JPEG

Is this the type of dream house you want?

What most people hear to the question of what they should do in life is the age old adage, “Do what you love”. The problem is, most things people love to do can’t be monetized. What I love to do the most is to lay on the beach drinking cocktails.

At The 8 in Macau

That’s gonna be a problem for me, because no one’s gonna be paying me anything to watch me do that. What about doing something such as art, or becoming a musician? If you’re one of the lucky ones to make it, kudos, you’ve been blessed with talent only .001% (rough guess, but I have a feeling I'm close!) of the population has. But, from my own experience in seeing many examples played out, being a starving artist or musician with practically a zero chance of making life changing money stresses the vast majority people out way too much for them to be actually happy. Many of the starving artists types have to pick up a side job and are miserable with their situation.

Now, I’m not saying to not chase your dreams, but what I’m saying you have to be really truthful to yourself to recognize whether or not you possess something a very small percentage of the population has. What’s actually much easier to do is making enough money to give you the freedom to do whatever it is you actually love to do, instead of the other way around.

In short, this means that for the vast majority of people, they have to figure out what their skill set is in order to maximize their earning capabilities that end up giving them enough money to where the money works for them. The earlier we all get to this point, the earlier we can get to doing what we really want in life. So, how exactly do we figure that out? I’ll be going into that into another post that figures out how we can examine which industry/field we should go into.

CashPlays-Colombia.JPG

Exploring how the locals live in Colombia

Thanks for reading, and I hope that this post has helped you out in some way. Let me know about any experiences you may have had, or any questions or thoughts in the comments!

Sort:  

You have very interesting pictures, Columbia is beautiful.

Thanks! Colombia treated me really well. Medellin had great weather, pretty much like Southern California.

A Country so beautiful should be able to treat their visitors well.

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

I am soo sorry I missed this, one would love to upvote...

Maybe you should reply and I will send some juice that way...:)

Congratulations @cashplays! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 69344.75
ETH 3687.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.27