Picture For A Grieving Friend

in #life6 years ago

The photo above is a portrait I drew of my best friend's mom after she passed away. I was living with my friend (well ill call him my brother). He lost his mother at the age of 17; I cant even image how that must feel. Our younger brother, as we all shared a bond, was drawing a portrait of the same picture, but was discouraged with the results. At this time in my life I did a lot artistic things, and was touched when he asked me to draw this portrait. I took my time and tried to capture the details. I am highly critical of my own work and was nervous about the final work. They were very happy with it! The gratitude and thanks I received from them was a memory I will always cherish. Anytime someone would come over, they would bring it down to show it off and to this day they still have it hanging on the wall in display with the rest of the family photos. I like to think this brought them some kind of peace, and was glad I could do it for them, no matter how hard I criticize my own work.

I drew this portrait almost 12 years ago, maybe I should make the time to be creative again. I don't see much of my friend anymore. His father passed away recently and I was unable to see him, as I had a death in the family as well. When I came across this photo it got me thinking of him, and how he is doing. I hope all is well with him.

Sort:  

You killed it man! It looks good. That's a good memory to hold.

Thank you means alot, it's hard to think how young i was at this time. Time flies bro, but a good memory forsure.

Beautiful lady, you done her great justice. Thank you for sharing, cuz!

I'm glade you think so :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @cavalry to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Good post, I am a photographer, it passes for my blog and sees my content, I hope that it should be of your taste :D greetings

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69262.51
ETH 3679.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.22