Don't be a perfectionist - make mistakes!

in #life6 years ago

I've lost too much time in my life planning, thinking about something or getting ready for something. Instead, I should have just acted.

I know it today.

But I am not writing this to complain or mention how much a great opportunity passed my nose, or who or what I would not be today if only I ever started working on a something couple years ago. Rich in these experiences, I write these words to warn you and that you do not make the same mistake.
perfection.jpg
Some of you will make these mistakes and lose a lot of time anyway. But that's life, it can not be avoided because that's the way things are. However, I hope that at least a few people will draw conclusions and start working.
Practice makes perfect, and to learn something you have to do it, and not just theorize. Even a child knows it.

However, I am not saying that planning is bad, on the contrary, it is very important. However, I would like to point out that we can not devote more time to planning than just action. This is a path to self-destruction, trust me. Our plan is to be a simple signpost to the place we aim for.

So everyone knows that practice is more important than theory! Are we sure? Why then are hundreds of people around us who are afraid to start realizing their dreams ??
Slowly... maybe I started it too hard, it sounds too pathetic. By realizing dreams, I do not mean that you throw everything today, work, school, or even worse, your family and go on a trip around the world. It is possible that many people have in the mind of this over-hyped dream. But calmly, all in its time.

So what do I mean?

Start working on it today! Look around and think about what you can change today, within the next 30 minutes, which can bring you closer to your long-term goal or dream.
How to start doing something and not just wait for perfection. That can be said of almost every aspect of life. I will write in this post about the two that are closest to me. Namely, sport and programming.
mistakes.jpg
I have already written here that I delayed running for almost 8 years. 8 years! You understand? Of course, I had great excuses like that I am after a broken ligament, reconstruction and often feel instability. But all this existed only in my head. I knew that other people with such injuries are often 100% efficient and do all possible sports But I still delayed it.

One day I just went out to run and you know what happened? NOTHING BAD! I ran, it was hard for me, I was scared. But since then I have been running until today and despite minor or major injuries, I have no intention of stopping running. It was enough to go out a few times in the morning to run for 1 minute and walk for 5 minutes. It's really that simple. For a long time, I was running without any technique and I was hurting myself, then I read several books and corrected my technique. The order of that is the key here. I know that if I started with books, my beginning of running would be at least doubtful.

The second thing is programming. I waited several months with the beginning of my first long project. I had excuses like having to finish a course, learn Python syntax, read a book, or check something out. In the end, I came to the conclusion that I can not write anything on my own, that because I did not learn anything.
prog.jpg
I opened an empty file and started everything from the beginning, started to write an application that I had long wanted to create. A simple app for running your home budget. And you know what? I'm learning 10x faster while having a great time at the same time.
I know that I lost a lot of time to passively watching courses and rewriting someone else's code! I did it because of the fear that if I start to write something, my code will be ugly or I will make stupid mistakes.

Today I know that everyone must make mistakes.
And it's better to do it late than later!

Draw conclusions and move forward, while remembering that you are learning all your life and you should not avoid making mistakes!

Are you afraid to make mistakes or you consider them at the price we pay for development?
Let me know in the comments. Take care!

Sort:  

Congratulations @cement3! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63041.44
ETH 2985.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61