Jane Eyre: Life lessons

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemers, 

If you eople are thinking that this is a book review, then let me tell you. it isn't. This is about what Charlotte Bronte's Jane Eyre did to me, about how the book changed my life. 

                   

I read the book for the first time when I was in 8th grade. The librarian at my school gave me the book during our weakly reading hour and asked me to read it. At first, I wasn't happy. All my friends got books with colorful colors and I had a boring book with dull tones. I wasn't happy at all. After sulking and complaining for a while I decided to suck it up and read the book.

I don't come from a super rich family and my parents don't shower money on me. They do pay for all my necessities, and make sure I have everything I need. They also believe that money can spoil kids, when it come to luxuries, I am on my own. At school, there were a lot of rich kids who used to shove their wealth down other's throat. I always felt bad about this, but when I went on reading the book I saw what money had done to John and Georgina Reed. Even though Jane was poor, she was a much better person than they could ever be. This changed my perspective towards money and learnt to value people for their integrity and behavior rather than the money they have.

Another thing I learnt from the book was how education can change a person's life. If Jane wouldn't go to school, she would have to spend all her life tending to someone else's needs as a maid. My Grandma always tells that education can pave your way to success, the book helped cement belief in that. 

Even though I was (maybe still am) too young to understand this, the book also talks about love. for Jane, love was above wealth and appearances. She accepted Rochester despite his handicap for the goodness of his heart and believed that one day life would smile and bestow happiness on them. 

The book also highlights faith. Jane had faith in herself and toiled throughout her life. even though she suffered a lot, she also appreciated the little things in her life. That is the reason why her story ends  on a happy note. 

So yeah, this is all I had to tell about what I learnt from the book. If you haven't read the book then please do. I am sure you will love it. 

If there is something you want to tell about this book, then please do comment, I'll be looking forward to reading them and maybe then I can read the book again with a whole new perspective. 

Thank you. Keep sharing, people.

XOXO



Sort:  

Jane Erye was one of the dullest and most diffucult books to finish in high school. Maybe I don't know now to appreciate this genre. I just hate that Mr. Rochester has to be blind and maimed before she fully accepted him.

To make this book more palatable, maybe someone can create another mashup similar to "Pride and Prejudice and Zombies" and "Sense and Sensibility and Seamonsters."

How about "Jane Eyre, Werewolf Huntress?"

Cheers!

I do agree that it was dull and difficult to finish, but it has a lot of values in it. If you read Charlotte Bronte's history, you'll know where she's coming from.
Yeah! A mashup would be great.
I love the name you've come up with. Maybe you can try and write it.
Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69603.16
ETH 3748.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75