It's never too late

in #life6 years ago (edited)

If you have ever felt like it's too late to follow your dreams, that it's too late to discover and live a life of purpose, then you might be setting your own limitations and creating your own mental prision.

There is this story I was told a long time ago, that I like to tell when explaining this perspective, at the end of the day we seem to learn better with stories and in my case this has been no different.

The story talks about a young man who was studying to be a doctor in a prestigious university. He was one of those young minds full of thirst, but at the same time full of fears and insecurity.

On his first day of class as he walked to the first hour, he kept on thinking to himself how he had to ace all his classes, how he had no time to waste, how he had to be a doctor in less than 7 years, because he did not want to waste his youth just studying.

oldmanreading.jpg

As he walked to the first class he noticed an old man standing by the door who started to walk into the classroom as well, he look at the old man and said "Good Morning professor" without much hesitation the old man replied "Ohhh no young man, I'm a new student just like you".

"But how old are you?" replied the young man almost in shock, but without hesitation and with a smile on his face the older gentleman replied "I've just turned 73 this month.... " The young man of the story could not believe his eyes and ears so he asked, just to confirm "Are you studying medicine too? and again with a smile the old man replied "Yes of course, I always wanted to be a Doctor and now It's time to follow that dream".

After a few seconds of akward silence the young man just had to open his mouth one more time "But... you will be 80 by the time you become a Doctor, it takes seven years at least". The old man one again with a gentle tone and gesture said "In seven years I'll be 80 regardless if I follow my dream or if I don't... "

The message is kind of simple, yet powerful... there is no better time than now to start, there is no better time than now to begin your quest of self improvement.

I will leave this post there for now, I'm working on writing Chapter 4 at the moment, but I was reminded of this little story today by a friend and felt like sharing.

All the best to you all, the tribe of good intent.

@chbartist

img src

Sort:  

The story perfectly fits in my life situation now. Thank you very much for the lovely share!

Great message! Yesterday WAS the best time to start. Today is even better. Tomorrow is often second-best. I should say Happiness is: starting something big and something new.

Have anyone heard about Colonel Sanders? Once he discovered that he got only 500 bucks in his retirement monthly, he got an urgent to create his own restaurant that is now a well-known KFC.

Post great! Well done
A really beautiful story .. Yes, we need this inspiration
Thanks for sharing

@chbartist thanks for your inspiration because without doubt is motivating.
How many times I was been stopped by myself from to reach my dream?
Thanks you. I voted you.

it's never too late to flagging you. why? you raping the trending page

Loading...

Wow,you are fantastic."Don't regreat the past,focus on your present and give 100% on your work and enjoy the time while working"should be the motto of all of us.Hundreds of yesterday had gone,thousands of tomorrow will come but today is only one ,so focus on today.Thanks for your great article and storry,so inspiring .

We also have a saying that goes, "Better to be late than never." This stands true for we can not live our lives in regret. We have to live our lives to the fullest and take chances, be daring so that in the end, we can "I did that". We may fail BUT at least we have tried. It's never too late, so what are you waiting for....

I love this focus on your present and live life happily, wish I have higher sp

I love this story. I always tell people that there's no time like the preset to start something.

This touched my heart. We indeed are getting old regardless of following our dreams or not, so we better just do it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79