Tactical Breathing in A High Pressure Situation

in #life6 years ago

A few days ago I've had the misfortune of speaking with a most unpleasant individual. What started as an attempt at civil conversation degenerated into a one-way tirade of insults, hyperbole and outright lies. It reached the point where he uttered three lies in the space of a breath. I called him out on that, and he flew into a rage.

"Fuck off!" he shouted. "I don't want to talk to you any more!"

I silently gathered my things and made for the door. He stomped up to me, closing within arm's length, apoplectic with rage. His fists clenched, his face scarlet, he yelled, "Fuck off!"

There was no way to leave. Someone else was opening the door. Until she made room there was nowhere to go. And he was too close.

"Back off!" I said.

"You want to fight, is it?!" he replied.

He raised his fists to his hips.

In that moment, I saw with crystal clarity a panoply of methods to destroy him. Elbows, slaps, stomps, takedowns. I'd trained for this moment. I was ready.

I breathed, and did nothing.

The door opened.

"I am leaving!" I declared. "Stay where you are!"

I sidestepped to the doorway, keeping my eyes on him. Stepped back, still watching him.

I turned around and walked away.

And nobody had to go to the hospital or the morgue that day.

How to Stay Out of Jail

Many 'self defence' courses are great for learning techniques and principles, but omit a critical skill: how to stay out of jail.

In the words of Marc MacYoung, self-defence is an affirmative defence. It is an admission that you committed an act of violence -- an illegal act in ordinary times -- but you had to act due to circumstances out of your control. Per American law, these circumstances are usually abbreviated as AOJP: the threat has the Ability and the Opportunity to harm you, you are in Jeopardy, and the situation Precludes all other options.

In layman's terms, this means that there is a clear and present threat to life and limb, there is no way to avoid or escape the threat, use of force must be appropriate to the threat, and force must end when the threat is no longer able to harm you. If any of these elements are not present, it is not self-defense. It is illegal violence and you will go to jail.

Going back to the above scenario, any use of force on my part in that incident would be criminal use of force. Even if I had come out the better of the exchange, there would be no way to justify it. Not when there was no actual threat, and when I was able to walk away. The incident was not combat -- it was a dominance display, a monkey dance, and monkey dancing does not justify violence.

It's easy to state all this after the fact. But when you're caught in the moment, when the blood is up, adrenaline is surging through your veins and the fight-or-flight reflex kicks in, it becomes too easily to allow your emotions to destroy you.

The lizard brain, more formally known as the amygdala, is responsible for threat response. However, it does not differentiate between a threat to your life and a threat to your ego. It can't tell if someone truly wants to kill you, or if he is acting out a monkey dance in an attempt to prove his superiority. The moment it perceives a threat, the amygdala lights up. It sends signals telling your body to fight. You become aggressive, your body goes into overdrive, and the human in front of you becomes a threat to be destroyed.

It's one thing to tap into this aggressive response to fend off someone who is trying to harm you. It's quite another to cripple or kill someone for insulting you. To prevent yourself from going to jail, you need to reign in the lizard brain and access the human -- i.e. rational -- brain.

The easiest way to do this is deep breathing.

Tactical Breathing

Among the nervous systems in your body are the somatic and the autonomic nervous systems. The somatic nervous system controls voluntary movements. Pause now and raise your arm above your head. That is the SNS at work. On the flip side, the autonomic nervous system is in charge of involuntary physiological responses. You can't simply will yourself to sweat, accelerate your heart rate to 180 bpm and force your bladder to dump its contents -- but under stress, your ANS will make it happen. While the SNS and ANS are mainly independent of each other, they are connected through one simple motion: breathing.

Take a deep breath and let it out. That is the SNS working. But breathing isn't a conscious action all the time. When you sleep, for instance, you breathe automatically. That is your ANS in action. And through deliberate, conscious breathing, you can instill in yourself a sense of calm and bring your ANS under control -- and with it, your physiological response to potential threats.

In On Combat, Dave Grossman discusses the concept of tactical breathing: deliberate breathing before, during and after a critical incident for maximum performance and well-being. His version is to inhale using your diaphragm for four seconds, hold for four seconds, exhale for another four seconds, and hold for four more seconds before beginning anew. In practice, any kind of rhythm works, so long as it is deep and regular regular.

Throughout the incident described above, I was using tactical breathing. The moment he displayed outright hostility, I knew it was time to go. Saying anything else would further escalate the situation, so I remained silent. But when he entered my personal space, alarm bells began to ring.

When someone acts aggressively towards you and closes to an arm's breadth, he is too close. He can act faster than you can react. If his hands disappear below your line of sight you won't see an attack coming. I told the subject to back off, but he interpreted it as an escalation and clenched his fists.

I was ready to jump in. But he kept his hands low, and out the corner of my eye I noticed the door was open. So I rephrased my demand: "I am leaving! Stay where you are!"

He did not react, buying me the time and space to leave.

Through deep breathing, I remained calm during the incident. I was able to rationally analyse the situation, read the subject's body language and behaviours, and pick a course of action that allowed for a safe exit. In doing so, I avoided doing anything that either of us would regret.

Other Training

While tactical breathing was essential to the resolution of the incident, my other training contributed to the outcome, specifically weapons training and rehearsals.

I train in Pekiti Tirsia Kali, a Filipino martial art noted for its weapons-centric approach. Weapons are fast, faster than most untrained humans can move, and they have a longer reach than the human arm. The ability to read distance and timing is crucial. When weapons are coming in at high speed, you must react swiftly and correctly. You can't afford to panic. If you do, you'll step into a blow, or leave yourself undefended against the follow-up strike.

In my kali training, we routinely train at combat speed, both with pre-arranged drills and spontaneous flow. In my humble opinion, it serves as a kind of stress inoculation, forcing the practitioner to maintain awareness of weapons, timing and distance. Having trained to breathe tactically under pressure, I was able to employ it in the above incident.

Weapons training in other systems also provide additional benefits. Two-man kata from traditional Japanese koryu requires complete awareness and control at every stage, including the ritualised opening and closing of the kata. Watch the following clip:

During the opening and the closing movements, both practitioners are watching each other's posture, weapon, range and movements. The opening sequence trains the practitioner to recognize what a threat looks like when he draws his weapon and is advancing on him, while the closing sequence acts as a standing down procedure to demonstrate the other party is no longer a potential threat -- and any deviation from the stand down ritual must be treated as a sneak attack. This is the same concept I utilized when I exit the situation, by keeping my eyes on the subject at all times while I backed off -- and by staying ready to respond to a sudden escalation until I was sure he was out of range.

In addition to formal martial arts training, when training in my own time I practiced yelling 'Back off!' and other verbalisations, as well as defensive hand gestures and postures to signal my intent while covering against sudden attack. Rehearsals help you build a mental script. When the adrenaline is up, rational thought becomes extremely difficult. Having a script to fall back on is invaluable. Scripts enable to you act smoothly and authoritatively, presenting strength and confidence, and discouraging would-be predators from attacking.

At the same time, you have to recognize when a script fails. I yelled 'Back off!' as part of my script, but when I noticed that the subject interpreted it as an escalation, I moved to a different tack. Similarly, above and beyond developing scripts, you need to develop appropriate responses when a person goes off-script -- or at least retain the presence of mind to act appropriately.

More Than Mere Fighting

If you are reading this article, you are probably not likely to ever be on the receiving end of criminal violence. But you might find yourself caught in a monkey dance. Knowing how and when to use force is important, but knowing when not to use force is even more so.

Self-defence is more than just learning how to beat someone up. It's about ensuring you go home alive and free. Going to jail is not successful self-defence. Keeping calm, differentiating between a threat and a monkey dance, and acting appropriately are critical skills. Training, rehearsals and, most of all, tactical breathing must be integral components of a comprehensive self defence program.

--

Cheah Git San Red.jpg

If you'd like to support my work, check out my latest novel HAMMER OF THE WITCHES.

Sort:  

One of the greatest lessons I was ever taught in studying kenpo as a child and young adult was the value of not engaging. My teachers emphasized that, ultimately, one's true strength lies not in the use of violence to achieve an end, but in knowing how to successfully avoid a situation where violence is necessary. It's a lesson I've carried my entire life.

It's a lesson more people should learn.

This post has been selected for curation by @msp-curation by @clayboyn and has been upvoted and will be featured in the weekly philosophy curation post. It will also be considered for the official @minnowsupport curation post and if selected will be resteemed from the main account. Feel free to join us on Discord!

I really don't understand those people who follow you screaming FUCK OFF when you're trying to fuck off -_- I used to teach "I'm leaving" or variations thereof rather than "Back off" as it can easily be twisted to be "aggressive" and "telling someone what to do" (okay I guess it is technically telling someone what to do) whereas it's slightly harder to twist "I'm leaving" especially if you don't embellish it further than that. Most of the problems I had were the kids usually had the firm belief that they needed to "win" situations by screaming or beating the other person down and if they walked away then they "lost". Kinda sad that mentality continues to adulthood.

Love the term "monkey dance" XD

goatsig

People aren't rational. What can I say...

I really should use "I'm leaving" more often, but only in a situation where I do have the option to leave. If I don't, "Back off" is more appropriate. While it can be twisted as aggressive, if your job is to guard a place, you can't just walk away. Would "Leave now!" be less confrontational though?

I stole "monkey dance" from Rory Miller. His thoughts on self-defence shaped my own.

The people I was teaching were kids or adults who were able to vacate an area if they encountered trouble in it, so I didn't even think about that. Guess you would have to be a bit more aggressive/assertive/generally not backing down if you have to guard something.

"Leave now" has longer sounds than "Back off" so it sounds a bit less abrupt, but as you say people aren't rational and they're going to interpret whatever they want to from whatever you say, you could politely say "Excuse me sir, please kindly vacate the premises" in a very calm and completely non-aggressive tone and someone hyped up could still decide to hear you being confrontational.

I'll check out Rory Miller, thanks :)

goatsig

You're welcome, and thanks for dropping by.

It's not that they aren't rational per se. Rather all mammals have social dominance preprogrammed into them.

These guys will, as you've noticed, loudly demand you to go away . . . while they approach you and then aggressively follow you around as you try to keep away from them . . . worse if they are presently in a group. The behavior of whether they follow you or not and continue to attempt to threaten you or not depends on where they see you in their dominance hierarchy.

I suggest it's not so much that human brains cannot distinguish threats to body from threat to egos — which is somewhat true.

The less intelligent they are they less their brain can tell the difference between an intellectual argument and a physical argument — and this in the context of position in a hierarchy of social dominance. Because when humans evolved there was no such distinction. (I refer you to this book: Satoshi KANAZAWA, The intelligence paradox, Hoboken: Wiley, 2011)

We live in an age where, despite everything, persons survive far more independently than ever before. In the past, when there was no significant production of anything, social group and therefore social dominance hierarchy, was survival.

Generally you might be interested in these two classic papers on the subject: (1) Eugene BRODY, Enger ROSVOLD, Influence of prefrontal lobotomy on social interaction in a monkey group, Psychosomatic Medicine, 14(5):406-415, 1952(9)., (2) E. ROSVOLD, A. MIRSKY, K. PRIBRAM, Influence of amygdalectomy on social behavior in monkeys, Journal of comparative and physiological psychology, 47(3):173–178..

(I might write a post on this subject.)

Thanks for the info!

The lizard brain, more formally known as the amygdala (Oooh, one of my favorite topics!) is responsible for threat response. And now for the amazing part: However, it does not differentiate between a threat to your life and a threat to your ego. So, every barking dog might be a rabid dog, and Lizard Brain would kill every barking dog just in case. Amazing, after so many generations, we haven't evolved a bit farther along. SOME of us have. Far too many of us continue to bully others, build up our own egos at other's expense, and wage war on whole nations of innocents. (*sigh) Thanks, Chea, for a great lesson in Avoiding Engagement whenever we can!

Thanks! Life is too short to waste time and energy on people who don't deserve them.

``Life is too short to waste time and energy on people who don't deserve them.''
Exactly, agreed. Well said.

I just stumbled across your post. It was referenced in @tibra's recent post. This was a welcome read. I recently had a conflict with someone i care about. I need say little else except I am healing. But I sincerely appreciated stumbling across your article.

Likewise the martial arts was interesting and I am looking forward to more of your work.

All the best.

Thanks! Hope you feel better soon!

Its is a shame this post is 8 days old when I found it. I would have liked to vote for it. Very well constructed and informative. I have to agree with you on training in a combat type sport and how this allows you to have a calmer reaction in these type of situations.

Great for you to also touch on the SNS vs ALS, in my studies on animal behaviour I read up a good bit on the subjects. For me it was about how animals react when in difficult, foreign or life threatening situations. We like to think that we are far advanced from animals but at the basic level we are so similar. Like animals loosing bowel control when placed in live transport on the way to slaughter for example. A completely alien environment where they have no escape their ALS kicks in.

Thanks for this piece, very interesting read and sorry to hear you had this incident too.

Thanks! The parallels between human and animal behaviour are fascinating. We're not so far removed from apes that we can't learn anything from them. (And, indeed, 'monkey dancing' has its roots from observations of monkeys and applying them to humans.)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67