My Usual Saturday Routine with a Nice Twist

in #life6 years ago

2017-header-schedule-saturday-2000x408.jpg

This is a typical Saturday for me but today had a little surprise in store.

Ah, Saturday. A chance for a lie in. I do like my sleep as anyone that knows me will attest to. I wake up and the first thing I do every day is check Steemit! The last thing at night and first thing in the morning check if I have had a reply. It’s funny how my routine has changed since signing up.

So replies posted, comments made and the feed checked! Time for brunch. My wife prepared a lovely meal of Cherry Tomatoes with Parmesan Cheese, Mushroom, Onion and Garlic Lightly fried, Haloumi Cheese all on a couple of slices of fresh toasted bread. Yum Yum. A great start to my day.

Next up, football coaching. My under 9 team have a match today. I pack my things and start my journey across Bucharest using the bus and the great Metro that we have here. Saturday is always reasonably quiet as well so with headphones on, Foo Fighters playing, I make my way to the venue.

My under 9’s are a great group of boys that are very excited to be playing a match. To be fair to them they have won most of the games they have played but today was a tough task for them against some bigger boys. They are a determined bunch though and after warm ups I had them ready to go. They start very fast and score two goals very quickly. The pleasure I get from seeing their joy playing the beautiful game is hard to replicate. It’s a very rewarding thing to do. Indeed any subject matter where you are passing on your knowledge and seeing a positive response is a special thing.


IMG_20171104_143435.jpg

That did turn on its head though as the second half brought them some adversity which, I have to say, this group are not used to. They concede and are now losing and need a boost. This is the flip side of coaching. Picking these children up when they are down is the harder side of the job. I gave them a pep talk and they finish the game strongly. They lose 5-4 but the finish was satisfying and they take heart from that. I am always very proud of them.

Football match complete its time to get back home and start some other work. As well as football coaching I tutor English second language to both adults and children. One of my adult tutees is trying to pass the IELTS exam so I prepare some work for her ready for Sunday morning. In the meantime I have Steemit running on the PC and glance at it every now and then. Totally addicted!!

I think, by now, I’ve earned a beer and some food. My wife, daughter and I go to the old town in Bucharest. It’s a hive of activity at this time of the evening and with decent weather. We stop for a quick drink and that’s when I get the call! Some of our best friends that we worked with in Thailand have just had a baby! We are so excited for them. Zachary is a little beauty and we are all very proud.


IMG_20180512_190702.jpg
Cheers little Zachary.

To celebrate we try a new restaurant called Red Angus. Not very Romanian I know but we do eat lots of Romanian food generally. We order a Rib-eye steak, beetroot and caramelised walnut salad and a Smokehouse Burger. Delicious! Along with some great live music we had a really nice time.


IMG-20180512-WA0013.jpg

I am now sat at home finishing this post. I have a little more prep to do for tomorrow’s lesson but that shouldn’t take too long. I think we will finish up watching Cobra Kai a new TV show on YouTube Red, about Daniel Larusso and Johnny Lawrence the characters from The Karate Kid 30 years on. It’s pretty funny and very nostalgic. After that, bed, ready for an early (ish) start.

So there is my usual Saturday with a nice surprise included.

Thanks for reading.

Gaz.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60463.70
ETH 2889.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59