Playing By The Rules

in #life5 years ago

Hey Jesslaves!

Are you a slave to the system or do you just play by the rules? We have rules for everything some are just physical limitations while others are man-made like morality, religion, etiquette, games, language, and family governance.

Rules can be followed, bent, broken, ignored they're really don't matter, they only make things interesting and give us a line in the sand where we can argue from, a vantage point if you will. Rules are indeed helpful, they keep a lot of society in check when you consider the power of free will, rules are indeed needed.

RKO.jpg

Rules need a reward

The issue with rules is no one is going to follow them without some sort of reward being attached to them. You get an award, money, something you find valuable for following the rules so as soon as people find ways to reward themselves for breaking the rules, the rules will be broken.

We are a rewards-based system of thinking, everything we do or don't do is based on how to get some sort of reward, that really is the number 1 rule.

A time for games

A game without prestige and reward is not a game worth playing. In today's modern world with the introduction of technology, we're able to hack this reward system and get anything we want instantly and overstimulate our pleasure sensors. We start to devalue reward as we attain it so easily and instead of looking to push on we can simply find ourselves in a reward rut content with routine.

I play for keeps

Speaking of gamification I recently hit a rep of 65 on here and a UA of over 4. Looks like I'm starting to get some respect around here.

First, you get the money, then you get the respect, I guess all I'm missing is power and women right?

Scarface of steemit here I come!

Have your say

Holla at me in the comments! All my commenters I will now refer to as Jessie. Jessie is a good friend of mine, but Jessies got a girl, and I want to make her mine.

So have at it my Jessies! If you don't have something to comment, simply comment "I am a Jessie."

Let's connect

If you liked this post sprinkle it with an upvote or resteem and if you don't already, consider following me @chekohler
follow me


Buy and sell STEEMGet Daily UpvotesGet A STEEM account
blocktrades.jpgsmartvote.jpgsteemninja.jpg
Sort:  

Rules have advantages and disadvantages. The application of rules in the things we do are good although they limit us from going beyond.

I think rules are a kind of structure to keep the majority in check while the minority will eventually find ways to break, cheat or improve on it! Rules have changed through out history I don't see it stopping any time soon!

You are absolutely right. But I believe there are some rules that will never change.

My rep hit 65 this week as well. I know it doesn't mean a huge amount but it's nice to get there. It shows you have been here for a while and doing something right. Just look at the people on rep 70+. Pretty much all active users working for success and helping out.

100% while you can buy your way up the rep counter it does show still gave a damn to put in some sort of money or effort into the platform. I am sure we will eventually tweak it into a more dynamic system that takes a lot more factors into in account or used in combination with UA.

If we ever do scale to millions of active users it will really come in handy to filter out content too

I could buy votes but don't see the point. Mine is all organic growth from posting daily. I have UA as well which gives a more detailed breakdown and could be useful in the future if we have a lot of users. At that stage we will be the OG's of the blockchain.

thanks @maxwellmarcusart pretty sure you'll be rocketting up the ranks into the 50s very soon! :)

Yup, I knew what it took me to get there with my previous and lost account.

It takes a while but always nice to see your account growing. It's all about interaction and consistency.

Sure! I've been here before but lost my passcode. So am starting life afresh.

I believe you knew this guy @maxijgcomm

I hate rules, always trying to break or undermine the stupid ones

I agree not all rules are equal and some were made up by people who had limited info or misinformation. Rules should be relooked and redifined and if it doesn't fit you you shouldn't mindlessly follow them, if we did a lot of innovation would not have happened

I just had a looooooong conversation about rules to my daughter. We agree we don't like them. Everything should be a matter of communication. A stable set of rules is what people use to feel secure. Security is an illusion. Sorry.

Hi @chekohler!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.068 which ranks you at #3267 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 144 places in the last three days (old rank 3411).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 179 contributions, your post is ranked at #100.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62989.29
ETH 3048.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99