Life is Better When You're Running & How Running has Saved my Life #runningproject

in #life6 years ago

20180605_190045.jpg
This photo isn't telling you to run from your problems. Except that it is! My fellow runners will understand. I've been running from my problems more than half my life & well, it's been working out great! 😁

On a more serious note, running has kept me healthy in more ways than one. Running helps me have improved mental health and has protected me from the most deleterious effects of clinical depression - drug addictions & suicide attempts being at the top of the list.

Somehow after a nice sweaty run, problems decrease in magnitude or disappear. Or maybe, clarity is to be had.

I'm thankful for running

It also lead me to pursuing my career in physical therapy. Exercise is a gift. If you are in good physical health, exercise can be such a potent anti-depressant & anti-anxiety.

Today was no elaborate or "special" run (I'd argue all runs are special, but I digress.) Today was a simple 3.5 mile run that took 35:01. I wasn't in a particular hurry and did some exploration. I found a new park called riverside park while I was at it that has a pleasant path along the Mississippi river.
20180605_175906.jpg

As I set out today, I had no particularly great news and felt sad & anxious. The run definitely lifted my spirits & I came back to a phone call with a job offer! Some of you may be aware I've been unemployed for a couple months so I was happy!

I encourage everyone to exercise. Next time you start saying you don't have time or "don't wanna" just remember it's a gift not everyone has.

Peace out everyone, thanks for reading.
FB_IMG_1526476961352.jpg

Sort:  

I agree! I only started running this year and an unexpected pleasure was how much it lifts my mood.

Good for you. Many assume running will just suck and not be enjoyable. Which for some it isn't and that's fine it's not for everyone. I'm glad you're finding your stride though =)

Congrats on your job offer. I started running 3/4 years ago when life got a bit tough and it definitely helped to keep me going but now life is still tough and I’m struggling to find the get up and go to run which makes me even more sad and angry. I do try and push myself to go out the door for a run as I feel so much better for it even if my body doesn’t my mind does. Great post xx

Yeah i hear you sometimez the motivation just isn't there, but I have never regretted making myself go on low motivation days =)

Could not agree more! I am also thankful to running and it kind of "saved" my life too. And that goes for the physical and emotional area. Running is one of the best and easiest way to improve the quality of life or as I like to say: "Do try to run today if you can... running is universal cure for almost anything!"

It certainly is a universal cure!

Great advice! I agree, being active makes life so much better!

That is great news you got a call about a job offer. I know it can be a struggle day to day and I agree that exercise is very important to keep a healthy balance.

My main source of cardio is basketball at the moment.

Thank you! It's been a bit of a haul but i'm thankful. Basketball is great if you're not being a big goof like I would be. Lol

The day has only 23 hours and not 24, do you know why? Because one hour is booked always for running.
@runningproject quote

Resteemed by @runningproject

Oh I love running. I miss running. Nothing a run can't fix. Stupid injuries!

Sorry to hear about your injuries! Hope you can get back at it soon

I had to take a break for some months and am so thrilled to get back into my running shoes soon - I can leave any stress, worries and negative thought behind me with a great running workout 👍🏻

Sounds awesome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87