You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Common Threads: Tell us the story of your favorite Chance Encounter.

in #life7 years ago

Call it an unpopular belief but I don't believe chance encounters are like flat out chance or "fate." I think they are more a manifestation of what your heart is desiring and opening yourself up to opportunity. That's where the saying "be careful what you wish for ". What you are "putting out there" whether good or bad has a way of manifesting therefore its not chance, it is what you brought on yourself....

Sort:  

I definitely believe this! But I also believe that sometimes the Universe does have a way of... aligning? things a certain way. Let me explain...

I didn't date much in high school, I just honestly couldn't be bothered.Most of the guys I went to school with (Southern California in the 80's) were either stoned or jocks and neither knew how to have an intelligent conversation. This pattern continued well into my 20's. Work was more important, and most 20-something men I did meet would disappear as soon as they found out that I was the sole caregiver for my grandparents who were both in their 60's and in declining health.

BY my 26th birthday in September 1999, I had pretty much assumed that I would be a crazy cat lady after my grandparents were gone. However, in March of 2000, the most amazing thing happened. A new dishwasher walked into the kitchen at the restaurant where I was working as a baker. We joke about it now, but it truly was love at first sight. Except that we both fought it tooth and nail. You see, I am 8 years older than him. He had just turned 18 in December 1999. We put up with a lot of ribbing when our coworkers found out. They even had a betting pool on how long we would last. Nobody won it by the way, 6 months was the longest anybody gave us.

We've been together 17 years, married for 16 and we have 5 beautiful children. When my friends from high school ask me why I waited so long to get married and have kids(when their kids are all nearly grown), I just smile and tell them that I had to wait for my Prince Charming to grow up LOL

It looks like 2000 was a good year for both of us! :) I love that you had the "love at first sight" experience and that it turned out so well for you! I think you made a great call marrying younger given the disparity in male/female life expectancy :) Thank you so much for sharing your story! Best

I think that's a beautiful way of putting it and I completely agree! :) I was going to say that Fate and Destiny are often romanticized ideals--but frankly, the way you described it actually sounds MORE romantic. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69084.83
ETH 3770.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52