Why are employers abusing their employees?? The "Profits before people" mentality needs to STOP NOW!!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

()

So I stopped by a very popular coffee shop last week and it was closed. It was strange because it’s usually always busy and we noticed we were not the only people walking away at 10 am in the morning. A sign on the door read “closed due to staff shortage, will reopen tomorrow with limited hours.” I searched online to see if I could get more info as I originally thought that all the employees probably quit and walked out. I thought about it but it wasn’t until I read the customer reviews that I realized how right I was. All the reviews alluded to the fact that on a busy morning the customers witnessed the owner yelling, cursing and screaming at the baristas and the cashiers. The reviews were the same over and over and the reviewers swore NEVER to patronize that establishment again. He even yelled at the customers for taking pictures in the place!

WHAT THE HECK IS GOIN ON?? IS THIS MAN A RAVING PSYCHOPATH??

I applaud the employees for walking out. The staff was always nice professional and friendly every time we went there so it’s sad that they were left with no choice but to walk out. What gave this man the right to embarrass and anguish his staff in this manner. How would he feel if his family members were treated in that manner? Times are hard and young people are trying to make it in this faltering economy and you have human beings like this man who has the opportunity to help young people and make a difference, yet he resorts to this.

WHAT MAKES A BUSINESS GREAT IS NOT FEAR AND INTIMIDATION

We get enough of that from the government and corporate jobs. What we need is happy, content, dedicated employees. How can he as a businessman not understand this? If he is unhappy with his workers, let them know one on one and fire them if they are that bad to your business and you feel you have to, but to humiliate your employees in front of customers and other staff members is unacceptable. I have witnessed and been the target of this sort of behavior myself on the job, and I can honestly say that I hated going to work. I suffered migraine headaches, nausea and terrible anxiety and just the thought of a day dealing with 5 managers, 3 supervisors, a couple of boot licking assistant supervisors and business owners who treated me like I was on a plantation with their whips strapped to their sides was sickening. It was always horrible and often I would go home and go to sleep from depression. To spend 8 hours a day, 40 and sometimes 60 hours a week in that sort of environment can feel like torture.

I DON'T UNDERSTAND?? WHAT IS HAPPENING??

Why are so many employers berating, abusing and treating their employees like slaves? I thought it was the just big corporations that did that. The relationship is the exchange of precious time and precious energy for printed paper money backed by NOTHING! The people that give their time and energy are partners who support and build a business. It seems small business owners are now adapting the same Corporate mantra of “profits before people”. The last few years low wages and NO benefits is the standard and bad enough, but add to that humiliating, overworking and disrespecting your so called “human resources’’ is unforgivable! Wherever I go and the way employees are treated is always mostly the same. Why do people in charge feel the need to mistreat the people they depend on?

"WHY DON'T THEY JUST START THEIR OWN BUSINESS AND WORK FOR THEMSELVES”

The answer is very simple, the political system is based on dependence not independence. The political system does not want a population of entrepreneurs but rather a population of workers laborers and taxpayers. Although they say the contrary, the school systems do not set us up for entrepreneurship. The abuse will continue for most but for the first time many are saying enough is enough! The real people (not the “corporate people” )are taking their power back. This is the second time in 6 months that I have learned that staff members have walked out of their jobs all at the same time for the same reasons and I say good for them. Good Luck and best wishes to all the men and women that waIked out. I know it is scary and not an easy thing to do but I guess they are...

MAD AS HELL AND THEY ARE NOT GOING TO TAKE IT ANY MORE!!!

Sort:  

Simple: moral bankruptcy.

In the absence of anything higher in a person's head or heart, money and power usually take over.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62184.89
ETH 2995.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97