"Most Of Your Good Luck Goes Unnoticed" - Daily Meditation #30

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Do you know any full-time whiners? These people are often heard lamenting that "nothing ever goes their way". They believe that the odds are perpetually stacked against them and life singles them out for a second helping of misfortune. However, people that feel like they are born to lose are very lucky on a regular basis.

While we don't all receive the same amount of good luck, most of your good luck goes unnoticed. No, we won't all win the lottery, land the once-in-a-lifetime dream job, or end up meeting the love of our lives. But these are all examples of things that happen. What about the things that don't happen to you?

Last flu season, you didn't get sick. Despite the disrepair of your home, the roof hasn't leaked and the pipes haven't busted. When you made it to work safely yesterday, you didn't crash your car on the highway. These are all examples of good luck that you fail to recognize as good luck.

Misfortune is always lurking, and you're continually rolling the dice. Every second of every day, we're taking chances. You don't notice all the good luck that is packed into your most mundane, uneventful, and unremarkable day. It takes going to a deep, dark place in your mind to imagine all the good luck that you experience when tragedy doesn't befall you.

Everyday that you can, count yourself lucky that tragedy is still just a card in the deck, and not yet a card in your hand.

Like this post? Please feel free to follow me!

Or read more daily meditations:

Releasing Your Stranglehold On Life

Do You Deserve It?

The Human Predicament, Explained In Under 5 Minutes

Feelings Don't Come With Instructions

Why We Should Stop Saying "Pressure Creates Diamonds"

Practicing Gratefulness Isn't Just A Cliche

Connect with me on Twitter!

Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Main image created in Canva; underline credit

Sort:  

Never thought about it this way and I like it. I suppose it also ties into being grateful for all the small things.

It's similar to gratefulness for sure. I think it's more a reality check though. We get lucky all the time, but we fail to realize it. I think we should be grateful for what we have, and maybe just acknowledge when we have some "invisible" good luck from time-to-time.

Always great to see you. :)

This is my quote of the week... "Last flu season, you didn't get sick. Despite the disrepair of your home, the roof hasn't leaked and the pipes haven't busted. When you made it to work safely yesterday, you didn't crash your car on the highway. These are all examples of good luck that you fail to recognize as good luck."... Love it bro

I am glad you liked it! It's an important idea to keep in mind!

Good things to keep in mind! I read a book about randomness a while back, The Drunkard's Walk I think it was because I was in a place where I needed to have a new perspective. Something I wanted so badly just wasn't happening in spite of all the stats that should have been in my favor. And yes, in my moments of clarity, I can hardly believe my luck - and it is luck. Thanks!

That book A) sounds interesting and B) I love the title. That sounds right up my alley. I am going to give it a Google.

I am pleased to meet someone else that feels lucky for all the unseen good fortune that we have everyday.

Have a good one!

Likewise :-) It's not always easy to remember, but I try to remind myself at least daily and let that show in my actions too! That's even more important than our thoughts, right?

Thanks for putting life in a positive perspective.
Yes we are all very, very lucky! Compared to the worker honey bee, which has a lifespan of 2 - 4 weeks, I count myself as one of the luckiest creatures on earth!

Lol yeah... But we aren't as lucky as the male drones! All they do is live to have sex. So, we don't have it as good as them! But life can't be perfect...

Aha, gratefulness again xD

(I want to watch black panther)
T,T random thought....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61054.53
ETH 2976.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65