Getting on the ball: Learning Javascript Event Objects

in #life6 years ago

Preface: This series is about my journey to becoming the best version of myself from nothing. My plan is to use every resource possible but mainly resources within Steem or resources available for free online. Essentially I'm doing this on the cheap. I believe we have enough resources online to teach anyone anything to start of or to fully understand and aquire a skill of their choice. My hope is that the steps I'm taking to shape myself, can be applied to yourself if you feel you want to do the same thing as I. My end goal is for financial freedom and be as positive as one can ever be.

Javascript

Learning all things Javascript: Event Objects

Yesterday was the start of trying to understand objects. I've certainly grasped in the understanding that an event is held within the function to which the event was called. After hours of reading today, the advantages of using the event object is fairly obvious now and I do believe I have a good understanding of it. I'm nearly finished reading the events section of the Javascript and jQuery book which will lead me onto the jQuery chapter. I can certainly say that I understand the previous chapters pretty well. My issue is I haven't had to actually build anything, it's mainly theroy however I do aim to move from theroy to practical very soon.

One of the issues which I've noticed that I face is that I read a bit too quickly and therefore I miss out on some key information. Sometimes it can be a word or two but given the context, it can lose me a lot of time. I've since adopted the idea that at least with this book and other resources, it's probably laid out well for people to understand and that I'm more the issue. With that in mind, I'm happy to now brute force the sections of the book I don't understand until the point to which I do understand. It seems to be working pretty well.

Udemy

A bit or reading and writing

I don't have much more to talk about in this section for today. To be honest, I am watching a video guide in all things writing and reading better. I feel it's probably going to help me articulate things better. I'm doing this through Udemy. I was lucky months ago to get the course for free and I'm certainly getting a good lot of use around it. I guess it'll help me also think of new titles to add to this and therefore help my financial situation to reinvest in myself.

How does this all help me today?

Fairly simply, learning all things Event's Object, increases my understanding with Javascript. I'm interested in getting a stronger grasp with Vanilla Javascript before moving to any serious frameworks. I understand I'll be heading towards jQuery tomorrow but that's not a problem.

If anyone else wants to follow the book I'm reading, it's the Javascript and jQuery book. For Savvy people, you'll find the book really cheap and it's probably the only Javascript Book you're going to need. After this book, it's all online resources.

If you want to chat, I can be found on Discord "Coldbolt #6340" or DTubes Discord Channel as Coldbolt.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61095.28
ETH 2922.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65