Thought of the day— Graffiti: vandalism or creative expression?

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Good morning Steemians! Today’s thought is about graffiti, and the way people perceive it. Some see it as an eyesore, others as art. For me the line between vandalism and creative expression blurs when it’s on private property, but even that is tricky. For instance, 8D620347-C597-4C7A-9BDF-0F7A035A5579.jpeg
(Sorry for the sideways picture, I was learning)
This is on a trash can in a public park. Hurting anything? Absolutely not, even makes for an interesting picture when visiting the area. Even more interesting in this case since I can think of 20 places right of the top of my head where I can locate this “tag” most of them right in the same town. All this being said, I’d be upset to find it on the side of my house. (I would however welcome it on a signpost or a rock for my garden, i have a weak spot for personal art.) So as I was saying, creativity and vandalism can be a fine line: but one worth walking if you can maintain the difference between adding visual appeal, and creating an eyesore. A little further up the same trail:120C77A3-9B97-475B-A002-32EE69B8B5CD.jpeg
This is on the side of a winter storage crypt for the recently deceased in a cemetery nearby, which for me crosses the line into disrespectful. This is unshakable superstition for me: the dead should be left to rest, cemetery’s are sacred places for me.

I’m hoping to turn this into a regular article about graffiti/expressionist art, let me know what you think! Is graffiti acceptable art? Why or why not? Let’s see some pictures of your favorites! And always bear in mind, like it or not (incoming opinion) graffiti is art that the artist is giving away for free when it’s done right.

Have a great day! Until tomorrow,
—ColdLogic

Sort:  

Graffiti once was an awesome form of art symbolizing rebellion by a culture that wants change, currently I think graffiti needs artists who have a purpose like the Banksy's of the world.

Your post reminds me of the quote: "When you change the way you look at things, the things you look at start to change".

I agree about the Banksy’s of the world, but I think they are out there. It’s our duty as the audience to acknowledge great work when we see it. If you see any that inspires you, remember me and take a picture! (If able) thanks for contributing to the conversation! I love the quote, I think it sums up how I try to live perfectly.

Congratulations @coldlogic! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67640.82
ETH 3784.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51