Til death do us part * The heartbreaking story of life-long love

in #life6 years ago

He tried to whisper to her, and she could see that it was a struggle. She gestured him to be quiet, and stroked his hair gently, tears pouring down her face..
The rock she has leaned on for so many years - the man she has adored, she has loved and cared for her entire life - was slowly fading away right in front of her. And she was powerless. All the tears,the pleading and the prayers could not stop him dying, could not stop her heart breaking.

How could she be without him? How could she wake up tomorrow and not see him reading that paper in his chair, sipping his coffee too damn loud, calling her 'Adi'.. Oh, how she hated when he called her 'Adi'! Who would she shout at? Who would she tell off?
He coughed loudly and she thought How selfish I am! How he's suffering!
She rested her head on his shoulder and tightened the hold on his arm. Please don't die! she mouthed, not letting him hear.

imageedit-2-8675596386.jpg
source

He was weeping too and she kissed the tears carefully, knowing that it wasn't death he cried for, but leaving her; it was her being alone that he was thinking of too. Her, walking around the house like a mad woman, not knowing what to sing to face the pain. He knew her all to well.. she would sing that ballad about the lonely bird and she would cry, stirring the pots of soups and stews, filling the glasses of all the people who will have come to the wake. She would smile at them too, and tell funny stories about their life together. She'll be strong, she'll be...

featuredoldies.png
source

My grandparents were together for almost 60 years and they loved each other more than any couple I've met. My grandma has been alone for 5 years now, still thinking and talking about her beloved husband every day, with a smile on her face and tears in her eyes..

I would have loved to share a photo of my grandparents with you, but I've painfully realized that I have none with me and their home is 2000 miles away.

Thank you so much for reading!

Until next time, Steem on!

Corina

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

You've written it with so much love for your grandparents and the love between them. So painfully heartbreaking .......

@corina, this a very touching story, that has brought tears to my eyes. It felt as if I was reading about my own grandparents; 63 years together! I'd say that their love was so deep and strong that when it was his time, it seemed as if she couldn't continue alone. One could see it in her eyes. Sadly, she parted following day to join him in eternity. Thank you for sharing your story.

Some story man. It's so great wrenching, makes me feel how weak we are at the hands of God and true love is everlasting.
Touching one indeed. Thanks for sharing

Such a beautiful memory of your grandparents. I'm glad that though grandpa is with the angels, grandma is left with loving stories and memories to tell. I hope to live with love, so that when I pass on someday, my love lives on, just like grandpa's.

A painful and beautiful story at the same time I wish you patience★★

Oww dear! I'm so touched..... I wish love would always be so sweet and never bitter. 😱

Tears are running down my face 😭 what a sweet sad story. Makes me think of the future. Living here in Florida i see lots of older couples 💙 i find most of them so cute how they still show how much they are still in love after all the years 😍. I can only hope that someday our life will touch others the same way. 🕊

Bello, @corina, todos deseamos llegar a esa etapa tan hermosa de amar para toda la vida, es un hermoso regalo tener con quien compartir por el resto de la vida, gracias por compartir, hermosas fotos.

Your story got me glued to my seat till the end of the story. Lovely creativity
@corina

very meaning full words by you, it contain feeling in it @corina

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66439.14
ETH 3005.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68