Do You Want To Be My Friend?

in #life6 years ago

DO YOU WANT TO BE MY FRIEND?
These few words came from my 4 year old brothers mouth just minutes after we arrived at camp. While the adults were setting up the tents and campers, I decided to get the little ones out of everyone’s hair and take them down to the playground. My little brother skipped happily by my side on the walk down, tugging on my hand so I would go faster and he could catch up with his siblings who had run on ahead. Pure excitement sparkles in those big blue eyes. When we arrived I let go of his hand and he sprung into action, going from one thing to the next in a frenzied rush, almost as, if he didn’t hurry and try everything, the playground might disappear. I sat down and watched his simple joy of a plastic tube with windows. He would call out ‘I see you!’ when he had crawled to each little peephole in the tube. Finally another little boy joined him and, with a huge grin on his face, my brother proceeded to ask ‘Do you want to be my friend?’ I envied his fearlessness and sadly wondered when it had stopped being so easy for me to ask that very same question. When did I start caring so much about what others thought...or the rejection? Why did I ever let that rob me of friendships I could have had if only I had the guts to walk up to someone and say ‘do you want to be friends?’ Why? Why do we care so much about others opinions of ourselves when the only opinion we should care about is God’s? Yet I feel like we often worry more about others thoughts on who we are instead of our Fathers’.
A5B44F28-7820-4A66-80B4-2F0B878982C2.jpeg
‘Well God loves us no matter what. People don’t.’ That is true. So why do we care about people’s opinions when they can be changed so easily? We could spend our whole lives trying to fit into a world where what’s ‘popular’ or ‘in’ constantly changes. How exhausting is that? What kind of life do you think that is? Would you ever be happy?
BB368BED-C410-4D5F-AF27-5A993A9A8391.jpeg

FRIEND OR FOE?
Often times, in a world where you can have hundreds of followers on social media, we find ourselves surrounded by multiple “friends”. Sure they can be supportive or encouraging but their opinion of you can be changed instantly when you say or do something they don’t like. Next thing you know those “friends” are shooting off so many words of hate and hurtful lies that destroy the way you think of your life and yourself. And that doesn’t just go for those friends on social media. Sadly it’s gotten hard to know who your true friends are...and because of that, trust in people these days, is broken. All of a sudden we find ourselves sitting on a bench envying the pure trust of a 4 year old boy.
F475EF41-07B7-4D49-92CF-950D2A6592D1.jpeg
So my question is this...Why shouldn’t we, as Christians, be a friend to one another? Why have we let the world invade on our trust of fellow brothers and sisters in Christ? It should be as easy as this ‘ Oh you love God?! Let’s be friends!’ Right people?!? Our closest friends should be those that are in love with Jesus and strive to live a life pleasing to Him. Those friends will build you up, have your back, and encourage you to conquer those dreams God has placed upon your heart. I thank God everyday for the godly friends He has blessed me with. I say blessed because I know that there are so called ‘Christians’ out there that will let you down and turn on you just like a great many people in this world. And again it’s hard to trust. But there is one you can always trust...God.
CD1182E2-ACAF-4AE1-865E-D27EF3927888.jpeg

WILL YOU BE MY FRIEND?
So dear readers I encourage you. Put yourself out there. Just remember, God puts each and everyone in your life for a reason. Either to teach you something, help you grow, or to bless you with a friend that you can minister to or they can minister to you. Build each other up. Also work on your trust in God, take one more big step of faith and ask those who do not know God ‘Do you want to be my friend?’ God places us in the lives of others as well to show them His light and love. Yes there is a chance you may get hurt, but hey, we have the Ultimate Healer walking with us daily. Don’t get me wrong, I know it’s not as easy as it sounds and we are no longer 4 years old. I’m the biggest culprit when it comes to trusting God and putting myself out there to make friends. I instantly think they will judge me and I won’t be good enough. In fact, when someone comes along I often don’t even talk to them or look at them.....sometimes I even walk away.
6B6BE900-23BB-4DF2-B614-115CC41D4EC3.jpeg
Without even thinking that me doing that could make them feel like I thought they weren’t good enough to talk to! I let my fear keep me from a life of low possibilities to impact peoples lives! What kind of life is that?! God didn’t call us to live safe. We are called to step out boldly and trust Him to lay a path before us. So talk to that girl in the corner or the popular one standing in a group of people. It may be intimadating but she may be desperate for a true friend. Talk to that boy who seems as awkward and shy as you or the handsome jock who can seem overwhelming...it’s often just a cover for wanting someone to care. Many people are just struggling deep inside and are longing for someone with the light of God and the Hope of salvation to come along beside them and say ‘Do you want to be my friend?’
CD2465D3-E230-4740-AAFB-7BF25E172AB9.jpeg

Sort:  

Congratulations @cpurejoy! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @cpurejoy! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

Yes

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84