Growing OldsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago (edited)


image source

July has just passed by. We’re in August now. Hope it will be a good month because July wasn’t. We had a passing away, three surgeries and two days ago my mum saw a geriatric doctor.

We could see my mum aging, physically and mentally. But it was different when we saw the geriatric doctor. He asked her simple questions and gave her simple tests which she had trouble with.

It was then that I realised her mind wasn’t stimulated the way it should. When we talked to her we were giving her information which she probably couldn’t process completely. When she talked to us she was telling us things she was familiar with. Her mind wasn’t stimulated to really think.

My dad keeps himself busy every single day. He makes sure he keeps his mind alert by watching the news on TV, reading the papers and doing his search on Safari. No matter how tired he is he does the laundry and gardening and goes on the treadmill every evening at 5pm. Even with all these activities he is showing signs of deterioration.

I don’t like using that word, “deteriorate”. But that’s the only word I can think of to describe their situation.

We’re at the hospital with my dad now. It’s complicated. Doing blood tests and ultrasound. 🙏🏻🙏🏻🙏🏻




To be honest, I’m not looking forward to growing old. I guess most of us aren’t...

 


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://crazymum.vornix.blog/2018/08/02/growing-old/

Sort:  

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Do checkout other posts made by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/created/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65