Keto Diet Recipe - Spinach and Mushroom QuichesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago (edited)


For some time now @megstar has been encouraging me to share some ketogenic diet recipes here. I’ve actually thought about it but don’t feel comfortable because most of them contain meat and I’m a pescatarian. If I could I would discourage you from eating meat and not give you meat recipes to enjoy! 😅

But if you’re already on a keto diet or want to go on a keto diet for health reasons I’ll my recipes with you. You could always start with meat and when you do become a pescatarian or vegetarian or vegan one day you could adjust the recipes.

But I just happen to have one vegetarian keto recipe and I’m sharing that with you today 😊

Today’s recipe is Spinach and Mushroom Quiche.

Base:

1 1/2 cups almond flour

1/4 tsp salt

1 tsp Italian herbs

1/4 cup (or more) olive oil

  1. Mix all ingredients and spread into a 7” x 9” greased casserole dish, bottom snd up the sides
  2. Bake at 180*C for 15 minutes or until lightly golden
Filling (vegetables):

1/2 red onion

150g mushrooms

115g spinach leaves

  1. Saute onions in butter till soft
  2. Add mushrooms and spinach
  3. Put aside till needed
Filling (eggs):

7 eggs

3/4 cup heavy cream

2 dashes salt and pepper

Whisk all ingredients together.

Add vegetables to egg mixture together with 2 cups grated cheddar cheese.

Pour into cooked crust and bake at 180*C for 45-50 minutes



Once you get used to it you can adjust it to your liking. I usually leave the spinach out and add canned flaked tuna instead. And I use maybe 3:1 ratio of milk and cream.



Don’t expect the crust to hold like normal pastry. It is a bit flaky but considering it’s made without flour and butter it holds pretty well and tastes nice. Hope you give it a try and like it 😊

 


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://crazymum.vornix.blog/2018/07/11/keto-diet-recipe-spinach-and-mushroom-quiche/

Sort:  

I've eaten it so many times for lunch and dinner that I can already taste it just by looking at it. Down to the saltiness and crumbly texture!

Does it make you shudder?

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97