Ketogenic Diet - Gratitude #30steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago (edited)


Image source

Have you heard of the ketogenic diet? I hadn’t until two years ago when @branlee87 approached me with a request to help cook special meals for him. He had been cooking for himself, fried chicken breast every single day! He couldn’t take it anymore and had no choice but to turn to me!

And why was he on this diet? To lose weight. He was going to look his best on his wedding day! He had read that people on this diet lose weight pretty quickly and it also helped with their health issues.

Of course I had to find out what I had to do and if it was going to be easy before I agreed. This diet is also known as the LCHF diet, the Low Carb High Fat diet. All I had to do was cut out all sugar and carbs, and cook his proteins and veg in a lot of good fat. Good fat like animal fat, coconut oil and grass fed butter. Sounds easy enough. So I agreed.

The thing about me is when I do something I want to do it well. So I went looking for creative recipes. Creative but simple. I ended up making some not so simple ones too. The important thing was they had to be delicious! I even got my sister in the UK to help us buy slim noodles so he could have pasta.

These were some of the food I cooked him:

nasi lemak


Garlic prawn pasta


Burger


Shepherd’s pie


Mind you, there was no carb in these dishes. No flour nor rice nor potato 😉

I think he lost 2 or 3 kg in five days! His aunties and uncle were so impressed they decided to give it a go too. Sad to say they didn’t last a week! No carbs and so much fat was just too hard to handle. What made it even harder was no fruits except the occasional berries. Only avocado was allowed.

Bran stuck to it until his wedding day. In about 2 to 3 months he lost close to 10kg!


The bride and groom looked stunning! 😍




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://crazymum.vornix.blog/2018/07/07/ketogenic-diet-gratitude-30/

Sort:  

wow that much kilos thats great and the shrimp pasta made me hungry. I will lokk it up and see if its something i would try.

It’s not easy. Good luck!

I do miss feeling more energetic and alert. And also being slim :P

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98