My Green Companion - Gratitude #75steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago (edited)


The journey to a green / environment friendly / zero-waste / sustainable life is tough. It starts with awareness (you can find my post here). Then a choice. Not choosing which lifestyle to live (not yet) but choosing to find out more, to educate oneself of the cause and effects of climate change and how to reverse it. Then comes the lifestyle choice.

For many years I’ve kept away from the newspaper because everything I read was negative. There was hardly any good news. You can ask @branlee87! He was so tired of me sharing the bad news with him!

But lately I’ve been watching world news on Astro. Every day experts and environmentalists are expressing their concern about climate change. You can read about it here.

We cannot continue to be complacent and let others “do something about it”. We ALL are responsible! Just start with something small. You’ll find it’s not difficult at all.

When my kids were little I taught them not to litter. To put their tissues in their pockets till we got home if there wasn’t a public bin around. Today my daughter is an advocate for green living. She even bought cups for her colleagues to use when they go out to lunch. And Jack carries a steel straw with him. Anything they do, however big or small, to help reverse the damage we have done makes me feel really happy and proud.

I’m happy to report that my sisters in the UK have jumped on the zero-waste bandwagon. They loved the idea of washable tissues so I gave them each some. #1 who became a vegan some months back is now making her own personal hygiene and household cleaning products. I’m pretty confident that @rpattwell will be next 😊

As I said in the beginning of this post, it is a tough journey. And having companions help us push on, help us not give up, help us not be discouraged by what we see around us. Mainly people who know but choose not to do anything because it’s too inconvenient ☹️

Russell has been a real encouragement and confidence booster, and goes the extra mile to let me know I’m not alone. He gets pretty excited when I show him new ways of going green.

The flour, sugar, bread, rice, hay (for pets) that we buy come prepackaged in plastic. He was very happy to learn that I’d started collecting the plastic to repurpose (I was inspired by this post).


But can I do the same with plastic used for wrapping take-away food? They are so oily and messy! So much work! Well, Russell said no worries, and washed them for me 😊



Hanging out to dry

I’m glad I’m not alone. I’m glad Russell’s here to give me a helping hand, and a nudge ❤️

20180516_002249_0001.png



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://crazymum.vornix.blog/2018/10/14/my-green-companion-gratitude-75/

Sort:  

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95