Body conditioning ( not for the lighthearted )

in #life5 years ago (edited)

Hello Dear Steemians!

So I want to tell you about my experience with mind over matter.

A year ago I started experimenting the conditions that our ancestors had . And this is what I found out: comfort breeds weakness.

I started water fasting right of the bat. No preparations, no cheating. Used to my first world routine, it was hard to say the least. I did not die, I did not suffer from any problems after the 3 days. Done!

After 2 months, I've decided to do another 3 day fast. This time I added cold showers when outside were bellow freezing temperatures. Hurt like a mofo but I experienced the best high and the best serenity moment of my entire life. Done!

caglayan-kaya-goksoy-commission2low.jpg
Then I went a step beyond. Water fast, cold showers, heavy lifting and exercises till my body was seconds from collapsing. Then, that high hit me again. It was overwhelming, my senses sharpened, I sensed even the slightest smell in the air (possibly from being in survival mode and searching for any scent of food). I did not die. I did not get sick. Done!

What I learned from these experiences, the mind can be a very, very powerful thing. I saw life different after that. And I kept pushing the boundaries. I said to my body "you either adapt and survive or you break". I also returned to kickboxing because I practiced it about 7 years ago. And my body still remembers.

No-Limits-No-Rules-No-Fear.jpg

Point is, you have no idea what you are capable of until you go beyond what your mind considers a "limit". I learned discipline, if I do not want to be tempted by something, if I resist my breaking point and keep a level head, then I am untouchable by outer negative influences.

I still practice this ritual when I feel the pressure building up inside or I sense that I cannot control myself or stopping by doing something.

1_eBLTmNyDs_NofZovkUyWXA.jpeg

What does not kill you, makes you stronger!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66924.37
ETH 3085.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71