Missed Opportunities

in #life5 years ago

qdguq27pct.jpg
source

How many times have you sat down and thought of the opportunities that you have let slip by over your life so far. If we are all honest with ourselves there will be one or two that will stand out.

You obviously can't go through life like that though as thinking about it will drive you crazy. I have two which you may just call bad luck or it just wasn't meant to be.

The first one was the first lottery in the UK many years ago. I wrote out 20 lines and went to go put them on at the shop and only had 15 Pounds on me and chose the first 15 lines. I didn't go and get some more money and put another 5 lines on. I think it was line 18 that came up on the first draw and the way I dealt with it was if I had played it most likely those numbers wouldn't have come up. I think about it from time to time, but it hasn't changed me in anyway.That is life and you can't live on what could have been.

Another opportunity was watching a news report about a pub in London accepting Bitcoin for payment on it's drinks. I had never heard of this before and had been using the internet for many years. It was marketed as an online currency for internet purchases. I thought about purchasing 100 pounds worth and mentioned to my wife that it was a long shot, but then never followed through. If I recall correctly it was around 1 cent or just under at the time.I don't think I would have followed through with it if I am honest as finding an online wallet would've most likely have scared me off. The truth is I didn't understand the technology and if I could have gone and purchased physical coins i would have done it.

This was probably a blessing in disguise as one I would've probably lost the password for the wallet or have sold them long before they reached its highs. This may sound strange, but I am probably more relieved I didn't purchase them as the person I was in those days I would have lost the password. That would I think be worse knowing what you had and let slip and see it as a relief in many ways.

Today I don't play the lottery and rarely gamble yet I an involved in crypto. I am comfortable with Steem and a few other coins I hold and don't really see it as gambling and more of a sure thing. I know it isn't a sure thing, but my gut tells me it is.

Sort:  

most of my missed opportunities in life are due to overthinking, i am great with that :D

I only own Steem (0.00000002 or something btc just because of transactions), i did bought some (almost half), not sure if it is a gamble. I like the idea that the vote has a value, and you can share that with others just because you own steem power. And i for sure have no idea what will happen and what to expect :)

Overthinking is more common than you could imagine.By the time you have made up your mind the opportunity has already passed. It is not such a bad thing though being over cautious. I think holding Steem is fun for what it allows you to do with it and exiting knowing the possibilities it holds for future price as we don't know.

i am here year and a half and i still did not grasp my head around what it should, could or will be. but i think nether the creators of it did, so i still have time :D
when i today seen the inception of steem on steem (palnet) :) i was like i get it, but then i don't :D

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Missed opportunities are the ones teaching you. You can be sad about missing an opportunity but also happy as you can be wiser after that.
Of course this does not apply to everyone. Some people miss an opportunity and never learn from it.

Missed opportunities are the ones teaching you. You can be sad about missing an opportunity but also happy as you can be wiser after that.
Of course this does not apply to everyone. Some people miss an opportunity and never learn from it.

Ah yes, I have several stories like that. Most of them involve the stock market, but I also remember working with a guy that was really excited about Bitcoin when it first came out. I have no doubt he probably bought some back then. Whether he held it or not, who knows...

Hi, @cryptoandcoffee!

You just got a 6.46% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @cryptoandcoffee!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.154 which ranks you at #2947 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 2949).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 180 contributions, your post is ranked at #43.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61626.58
ETH 2940.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66