Stupid Self Inflicted Pain.

in #life5 years ago


source

I haven't inflicted pain on myself in quite some time and last night I wasn't thinking and slammed my finger in the car door.It is amazing how flexible a finger is as I manged to pull it out almost instantly.

I think I am one of those people who have a fairly high pain threshold and something has to be really bad to slow me down. I grabbed a tissue and squeezed the finger making sure nothing was broken and to stop the blood as by chance I had gashes on the top and bottom. Nothing serious just a nuisance for typing and will be fine in a day or two.

I think the worst thing I did and the most painful not mentioning the dumbest thing happened a few years ago. I was delivering a parcel for my father in law to a shop that had a small wall around the front. I would guess it was about 40 cm high maybe a bit more, but easy to jump over.My problem was I hadn't taken in the weight of the parcel which would hinder the height one would normally jump. Dumb,stupid and not registering this I jumped.

Obviously I didn't quite make it and came down on this brick wall landing on my shins. The parcel was about 15 Kilograms added to my weight and I managed to dent my shin. I didn't break it, but it was close. I have never felt such pain before even when I broke my ankle I wasn't 100 percent sure until I tried to walk on it.

X rays showed a fracture and I still have a dent there today. Battle scars from stupidity that could have been avoided so easily. I have learned my lesson on most things in life and the car door is another reminder that things can just happen at anytime and one should remain focussed.

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

he could have positioned it to the left a bit, give people something worth while to complain about lol

Lol. Then it wouldn't have the comfort factor I suppose. Absolute idiot though and has no idea.

Ouch. Hope it healed properly.

Howdy sir cryptoandcoffee! that really hurts just thinking about both of those things! lol. You are so right though, most of us need to slow down a notch and think before we act!
That picture in the article on top is insane! lol.

Yikes! I can't remember the dumbest thing I have ever done, but there have been plenty of them I assure you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73