Thoughts on Florida School Shooting and Dealing with Tragedy as a Parent

in #life6 years ago

Sadly, yesterday, our Nation suffered yet another school shooting massacre. This I believe is the 18th school related shooting…. JUST IN 2018! Some “experts” say it’s the reason the call for better gun control needs to happen. Some say that it is all the violence that is portrayed in television, video games and just life all around and how the new generations are subjected to this at a much earlier stage and age then previous generations. Ultimately, my concern/question is does it really matter? I mean does it matter what the reason is because everyone is going to have their own opinion on why this so chaotic and happening so frequently and trying to change someone’s perception to one side or the other is going to be a struggle. At the end of the day what REALLY matters is the fact that IT IS happening and something needs to change.

I’ve heard from friends that the parents should be to blame. We here in interviews years after these incidents from the parents of the shooters, that they should have seen the signs. The letters, the actions, the changes in demeanor of their child…all “signs” of the future events that lead to tragedy. Parents are told that should have paid more attention and should have stopped trying to be BFF with their kids and be a parent! I personally, and this is only my opinion, believe that everyone walks around with the “oh that’ll never happen to me” mentality. We, as a society, should have stopped that thought process long ago. With all the signs, experts and constant happenings, I believe we should all simply believe it can and will happen to us…it is just a matter of time.

Please understand @steemians that I am not trying to sway anyone to go one way or another on gun control. That I am not trying to pick apart parents of children that commit these acts. All I am trying to do is make people understand and be aware that there is obviously something wrong, something broken. If you are a parent reading this and think you are being pointed at, maybe you should stop and wonder if you really take the time to talk with your kids. Maybe you feel that you or your kids are on your phones, your tablets too often. Take the time and actually converse with your kids. Have a meaningful discussion with them about their day, what the plans are for tomorrow. Get to know them. Stop making it such an awkward process. It’s ok to be friends with your child, but remember, be a parent first. This, I believe, at a minimum will immensely help with these issues. If we, as parents, can focus more on our kids than our own phones and life, just possibly there is a chance at preventing even 1 shooting. Time will tell.

In closing, I want to say my heart goes out to the families of all students and faculty at Majory Stoneman Douglas High. To those that must now bury their loved ones- I am a parent of two children and I cannot imagine having to go through something like this and hope I never do. I as a parent have nothing but love for them and hope they find peace in their grievance. To those who now must live daily with the haunting thoughts of what they have witnessed I can truly say I only hope that time will heal their emotional wounds and that they can go forward and find solace in knowing that there are ways to get help if needed and that there is no timeline in place when that period will begin or end.

May God Speed to all those affected by this horrible tragedy and know that all of us parents and brothers and sisters of this great Nation are with you 100%.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61233.41
ETH 2934.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56