You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What's True for Me

in #life7 years ago

The US and particularly The southeast where we live are not tolerant of nudity or sexuality. I think it is sad that I have to hide the fact that my wife is a former stripper because most people would immediately pass judgment even though many of them are morally (and in many cases intellectually) inferior in my book. She's a great woman and she's always been faithful and loyal to me and I've done the same with her. We have a great marriage.

I understand a lot of women aren't comfortable being nude and that's fine but I can't help but wonder how much that has to do with the way society has conditioned them to think and see themselves.

Sort:  

I hear yeah, and I'm starting to question my own notions "that I have to hide". I think sometimes, for me at least, I blame society, my parents, friends, a job… Whatever for what ultimately was a self-imposed restriction or hold back that I put on myself. It's my own uncertainty of how people would react that used to make me feel I had to hide. No one made me. Once that becomes clear we can drop the need to behave anyway besides the way the way we truly are...and just be.

So what if people pass judgment on me? At this point I'd rather live with the mild pain of being my true self and dealing with the reaction of people who are asleep, versus stifling myself to keep all of the sheep happy.

Your wife is a great girl and I feel you and she are on this same path.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69407.16
ETH 3676.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.26