You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Promoting your children's sports spirit

in #life6 years ago

We do well to get our kid out of his room and away from electronics...have tried to promote interest in things like running and sports but he just has no interest. He's done a couple of short races (8 years old) but still has little interest.

I'm hoping that will change at some point in the future. Too many kids in the U.S. are so sedentary and addicted to their electronic devices and it's getting to be a serious problem. Those devices are as addictive to young brains as cocaine is to anyone, or so I've read...

Sort:  

Yes, that’s the current reality now...
Nevertheless we have to be persistent on that aim...That seed will grow inside them for the future, I’m sure about

Yeah we as parents just have to be persistent and instead of being the kid’s friend we must be parents if they are to grow up and be successful adults. I see so many people who bend over backwards to please their kids and they’re really just doing themselves and the kids a disservice.

Sometimes you just have to put your foot down and be the bad guy. I do it semi frequently and I don’t enjoy it but it’s necessary and for the greater good so....sometimes I just have to be the bad guy and know that the kid will thank me for it later in life.

Hahaha! Yeah, don’t tell me...
My daughter is almost 12...you can imagine how often I have to behave as the bad guy now
Hugs

Oh lord...I've read statistics that teens and pre teens spend as much or more time on their devices than most adults do at work (more than 8 hours a day).

You definitely have your work cut out for you having a teenage girl...Best of luck to you fried.

hugs back at ya! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63152.84
ETH 3104.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84