Maybe its time to avoid the news...

in #life6 years ago

If I was to say you should completely avoid the news, my words might be construed as someone who is advocating for ignorance. I would understand a critic who would choose to say that to me after hearing my position on the matter, but I’m willing to defend it, I do have a point to make.

It’s difficult for me to accept today’s news as an effective system of information.Yes, they are supposed to be one, but more times than not, they seem to be mediums of propaganda diffusion pedaling sensationalist ideas. I’m not going to say they wherever good either, because of this I’m not even sure, but what I do think its apparent at least today that they exist as effective smoke screen dispensers and nothing more.

Negativity sells, positivity doesn't. You would have the hardest of times trying to sell a newspaper filled with positive news, and any news network focus on the same, would be labeled as programming for children. This is a bit tragic in my view, why is it that we are so drawn to negativity? Why do we feel so compelled to share the bad news?

It's because of this very problem that governments are the natural allies of the news. They are complicit in feeding the population all the negativity and narratives that will keep them in power. The population becomes addicted to this, and the cycle never ends.

If you are feeling bit down, if you feel like the world is an ugly place, maybe start by shutting off the news. I promise you will start to feel a lot better.

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61361.03
ETH 2932.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67