What's the worst that can happen?

in #life6 years ago

What is it that stops us from trying something new?

Is it the fear that it won't work out? That there is no going back? There is no cuddly teddy bear to cling to if things go wrong? The world will literally stop turning, and we will all be flung 1,100 miles an hour eastward?

Most of these things will not happen ( I can't promise the Earth to stop spinning one). If the new experience doesn't work out, it's still an experience. That memory of trying something new, good or bad, can go a few ways. It can push a person to seek out even more unknown experiences, or it can reaffirm their belief that "See, I was right! It didn't work out! Now get off my lawn!" was the right choice.

Now we all know someone who's on either side of the LIFE EXPERIENCE COIN FLIP. I pride myself on the trying something new side. Is it hard sometimes? Yes, very. Is it rewarding? Not always. Does it make me a more rounded person? I would say yes. On the other side, the play it safe crowd has their argument. "Steady as she goes,Gents! We don't need to throw monkey wrenches in this operation! There's a goal and we are sailing right towards it!"

But sometimes the play it safe crowd misses out on the chance of discovering something new. Here's a recent example. My wife was looking for another career. She was saying how she didn't want to leave her position because there was so much to do at her job, and then next month there's XYZ to do, then there's this project that has to be completed, and no one know how to do it, and then there's........... there will always be something.

That's the key phrase to help the NEW THING challenged. The excuses against always seem to outweigh the yes votes, even when the scale is tipped in the plus column. There will always be something. Will it work out? Who knows. Will it be rewarding? Should be. Will it make her a well rounded person? Definitely. Because it will give her the confidence to see that the world still turns, and the next opportunity for trying something new might not have as many minuses as pluses.

And if the worst happens, I guess we will all find out when we are waving to each other on our 1,100 mph trip eastward.AAEAAQAAAAAAAAUnAAAAJDk0ZGY1MDExLTkzOTItNDc0My04ZGVjLTBkMGM5OTAzMDQ1MQ.jpg

Sort:  

That is what I said to myself yesterday when I was the next in line for the scary steep slide in a water park. I know it sounds silly but I usually tried to stay away from those ones. However, I did it and it felt quite good at the end. I survived haha. Nice post, keep up the good work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70893.40
ETH 3659.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76