Price to pay for owning a imported car

in #life7 years ago

Before I begin, allow me to apologize in advance if I have made you felt like as if I am trying to show off my car. Personally, I don't judge people by looking at their car. As long as the car is able to bring you from point A to point B, that's all that matters. Some people couldn't even afford to take the public transport. Let's just be grateful for what we have.

IMG_20170608_093942.jpg

I owned a 'Volkswagen' Jetta. Incase you're wondering if it's a CBU or CKD, mine is a CKD. To those who have no idea what CBU or CKD is, CBU is fully assembled and import straight from overseas. As for CKD, the parts are imported and everything will be assembled locally.

Most people will ask...

WHY VOLKSWAGEN ?

In Malaysia (not sure if this applies to any other country), Volkswagen is well known for maintenance issue, especially Jetta. My brother owns a Jetta as well and his article actually went viral with thousands of shares. I decided to give it a gamble and I am not going to lie, I have already spent RM4000+ on my car.

Truth to be told, Jetta is not for everyone. But once you get the hang of it, it is indeed a very very VERY nice car to cruise around.

IMG_20170617_103933.jpg

In less than 2 months, I have mechatronic and piston issue. THANK GOD I MANAGE TO GET AN EXTENDED WARRANTY FROM DSG !

After getting all of these fix, my car is basically running like a brand new car. WOOHOO !

IMG_20171110_084326.jpg

Kinda regret wrapping the red lines into silver. Now it looks elegant, but I want it to look somewhat badass.

BACK TO THE TOPIC

Money has been flushing from my pocket more frequent than public toilet getting flushed. Especially with the price of petrol hiking up like mad, RM50 worth of petrol is not even close to half a tank. Back then, RM50 petrol can last me for a maximum of 3 days.

Shouldn't continental car have low fuel consumption ? Well, here's the thing. My car is meant for cruising. As it cruise, the consumption of fuel gets lower due to the turbo charge. Because I live in the heart of Malaysia which is Kuala Lumpur, I have to get stuck in the jam every single day from morning till dawn, which affects my fuel consumption very badly. To make things worst, it's monsoon season now and the temperature will affect the combustion of fuel.

funny-animals-dogs-driving-cars-038.jpg

(Image taken from Google Image)

Sometimes it gets kinda annoying when people ask me 'Why German ? Why not Japan ?'. Honestly, I can't deny that V-Tech's performance is just simply awesome ! I have friends who modify their EG and EK that could go faster than a Subaru Evo. From BHP to Gohtong Jaya (halfway up to Genting Highlands) only took him less than 30 minutes ! Or maybe 20 minutes.

IMG_20171110_103334.jpg

To my non-Malaysian readers, Genting Highlands is basically like Nurburgring track in Germany. No, I did not get this sticker from Germany. I stole it from a good friend of mine.

Anyway, what I'm trying to say is, most of my friends owns Japanese cars. Sometimes it's just hard to get along or maybe they just somehow do not understand what I'm feeling when it comes to driving a German one ?

  • I have nothing against Japanese technology. If I have extra money, I would get a FD2 but I just couldn't afford one for now*

Ever since I've gotten a car, people around me started to change as well. I mean like COME ON ! Who are you hanging out with ? Me or my car ? Even if I drove my car over, I can't possibly bring it INTO the mall. There was even once I drove my other smaller car out (parking had never felt easier), the first question is 'Why din't you drive your new car ?'.

Well, at least now I get to know what their intention is.

Excuse me ladies and gentlemen,

I may own a German car, but keep in mind that my commitment is 10x higher than before. My purpose of owning a Volkswagen is mainly due to it's performance (put the maintenance aside). It ain't because I want to show off.

Sort:  

Glad to see another good post.
I've resteemed your post!

Thank you ! :)

#life
TB Joshua: If you don’t have a vision, you can never be focused in a direction.

hi,crystalmaiden,nice to read about you.
am jeevansantoshi from india,am also new on steemit and welcome you to steemit.
i have followed you.So,can also follow me.
Best of luck!

welcome to steemit :D

I used to have a VW golf. Couldnt take the constant breakdown. Changed engine still same problem. Thought peugeot would be different. Went thru same shit...i miss my old honda. Old but trusty.

I wanted to get a Golf MK7 initially but I needed the boot space to put my stroller. LOL ! Everyone keep on pushing me to get Polo Gti but I never like Polo. Come to think of it, if I were to get a Golf, might as well I go for A250 ? I heard alot of bad reviews from Peugeot. I assume you're driving 408 ?

Yes, we all love the power of DSG. I'm also tempting with the gearbox especially Golf R

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69718.72
ETH 3746.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81