You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Don't Like Airports

in #life6 years ago

Sometimes it's hard to believe that air travel was once something we actually looked forward to and it was a somewhat exciting part of going on vacation.

Now we get stuck with a security check line so long you can probably see it from space. And there's just this subtext feeling that we're all somehow... criminals... for needing to be searched and scanned. And everybody is a suspect. There's just something "unbalanced" about it, when you put it in the context of the fact that we are the customers, here... and yet we get treated like sheep about to be dipped...

=^..^=

Sort:  

Hey, @curatorcat.

That's exactly it. It is very much unbalanced, I do pretty much feel like a criminal, and it does very much feel like I'm being herded. The thing that keeps me tolerating it at all is the threat of something happening to me or my family if I were to just say, I'm not doing this. I have little choice in the matter. I am not in charge of myself when it comes to this. If anyone wants to see what it's like to live under some kind of oppressive rule, this is it.

I'm not sure what the alternative is. I've never taken a cruise, but I've heard that the same security precautions aren't extended. Of course, they have enough problems with different cruise ships falling apart or causing illnesses somehow, with the added fact that they're very expensive, that it's not appealing at all to me.

So, when there's no other viable alternative that I'm aware of, what can I do? Just don't go? Stage a peaceful protest? What's the Uber or blockchain-like alternative to commercial flight?

And dang it, I didn't even talk about the cost of her luggage to get it Mexico. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63521.22
ETH 3319.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91