Life - Beauty in the Broken Pieces

in #life6 years ago

Super Glue, Elmers Glue, Gorilla Glue, J-B Weld... I've used it all. Broken items always get a second chance in the Daddykirbs household. Mamakirbs ( @findingjoy ) has a heart for everything. It's true, she gives feelings and emotions to inanimate objects. Throwing something away is like giving up on it. So many times that is not the best first option. So glue we do.

Live well. Laugh often. Love much.

I find it fitting that the LIFE plate had to be broken and repaired. It is displayed in our kitchen window to remind us to live well, laugh often and to love much. It also reminds me that life is broken. We are all broken in one way or another.

It's LOVE that is the glue the heals us.

This little cow is so cute. @findingjoy loves it so much! When it broke it was very sad for her. I knew that I had to do my best to find every little piece of ceramic to put this little gem back together. It's not perfect, but a jar of super glue, some steady hands and a lot of patience brought this brittle bovine back to life.

This large flower pot up front by our front porch steps is one of two. They have lots of character even without the cracks that were created the day I backed the truck into one of them. When the truck bumper bumped, that flower pot laid out like the petals of a daisy. It seemed a total loss, but again we loved these pots. So I pulled out the gorilla glue and some brick glue and went to work. It probably drains much better today than it ever has!

This regal rabit had it's day on the operation table too. Actually a couple days. He lost an ear at one point that was promptly repaired, then later was damaged in much bigger ways. There were bunny parts everywhere. This time it look much more time and much more glue, but he went back together. In this case it took some paint to help hide the repairs, but we think he looks much more dapper these days.

Oh Deer

This Christmas we had a Reindeer go lame. His leg broke right off. There's no way we are giving up on this stag!

This time I chose a two part epoxy to do the repairs. This is a heavier object that needs to support some weight so I brought out the big guns. The epoxy was mixed up, tacked up and applied generously to the upside down deer. The tail end of the deer was propped up so the leg, once set in place, would stand straight up in the air. The weight of the leg itself would help to hold it in place until dried.

Here's some encouragement

Whether you want to take all this literally or figuratively I want to encourage you to give the brokenness in your life a second chance. Let Love be your guide to help you put the pieces back together.

If you feel broken please know that you are loved. We are all damaged goods, but our Father in heaven truly wants to restore us to Him.


Thank you for sharing this time with me!
UPVOTE, RESTEEM, and FOLLOW!


Sort:  

A message that all need to hear...Tweeted!

Thank you! I tried not to get "too deep" ;)

Some days it needs to get deep enough to drown in...

Thank you for your depth in this post <3

I want to encourage you to give the brokenness in your life a second chance. Let Love be your guide to help you put the pieces back together.

I needed to hear that after this weekend! This is pretty much my motto but it's good to be reminded :)
Thanks again,
@amymya

We all need reminded from time to time. Life hurts sometimes. You can do this!

Wow great work. I get sometimes angry if something breaks and throw it away. I had bad experience with gluing my fingers lol
Nice post, thank you for sharing :)

Oh yes I've had a few stuck fingers!

Nice. Follow me

In the Bonsai world it is known as "Kintsugi".
A link to show and explain the why's and whatsits: https://japanesebonsaipots.net/2014/02/27/kintsugi/

Oh nice! Thanks for sharing that link.

Beautiful sentiment, Blake

Can't tell you how many tubes of E6000 I've used in the past year. It's amazing what can be glued if you take the time and have patience. I also put things back together with a staple gun. Just depends on the kind of repair needed. Thanks for this post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62622.67
ETH 2944.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61