You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Grandpa Balloon Chaser

in #life6 years ago

These pictures are fantastic, and you do live in a beautiful place. It is nice to realize how blessed you are, sometime life gets in the way and doesn't let us see clearly.

Sort:  

Very true, @dalipops. Life can get in the way, or like in this case, it can be right in the middle of the action. :)

I think we recognize the beauty regularly. We travel enough that when we end up in places like southern Idaho and a lot of Utah or Nevada, that all have their own kind of natural beauty, we notice the differences even more. You get used to the green and miss it when mostly you see shades of brown.

It is just a little too cloudy and rainy for my wife and I now. It didn't used to bother me as much, but the last few years it just gets gloomy. And my wife has allergies that she doesn't have when she's other places, like Mexico, where she's from, and Southern California.

So, I don't know. We'll probably still be here for another year at least, since we're waiting to see where our sons and their families are going to land. The oldest is in the process of wrapping up college and his wife is due in December, while the youngest and his family are living with us. Probably shouldn't move while that's happening. :)

Congratulations! What an exciting time for you and your family. While I don't know your situation, having your son and family must be challenging at times. We had to move back in with my parents after hurricane Maria, and while I will be eternally grateful for their unconditional love and support, it can be hard at times. So a big thank you to parents like you who are willing to lend a helping hand. It is beautiful to see a family sticking together and helping each other out. I hope everything works out for you and your family.

Oh, as you know, then, we have our moments. It can feel sometimes like our house isn't really ours, but for the most part, I think we're okay. I'm sure everyone but our granddaughter will be relieved when she and her parents are able to move out—though I will miss having daily contact with her. :)

In our case, it's more of a matter of my son being able to get a good enough paying job to afford living on their own. He does have full-time work, but it's not much yet. He's working on a master's degree in education and hopes to get on at one of the public schools as a teacher as soon as he can. He already has an endorsement in Spanish, and hopefully he can start job shadowing soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63582.02
ETH 3289.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88