Posing contributes to muscle growth by way of "mind body connection"

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Flexing apparently has been shown to cause biceps to grow by 12%

What does this mean? Most people think of flexing and posing as just vanity. It appears that flexing muscles may actually be helping to grow them. This could be due to a boost in the mind body connection which occurs. The mind body connection is how an individual establishes greater mental control over their muscles. This flexing activity establishes greater control and this has been shown to have a positive effect on grow. In fact, the effect is quite substantial at 12%.

We already know there is a dose response relationship between volume and muscle growth. We now see that flexing has an impact and perhaps this could contribute to volume. Could flexing be used to prevent muscle wasting during periods of inactivity provided that protein intake is reasonable? If a person is dieting would flexing be good enough to preserve muscle in caloric deficit? I don't have the answers to this but if anyone does then please provide feedback.

References

  1. https://www.joe.co.uk/fitness-health/mirror-flexing-boosts-bicep-growth-by-12-4-study-shows-175824

Schoenfeld, B. J., Ogborn, D., & Krieger, J. W. (2017). Dose-response relationship between weekly resistance training volume and increases in muscle mass: A systematic review and meta-analysis. Journal of sports sciences, 35(11), 1073-1082.

Sort:  

This sounds related to Isometrics, where you just flex a muscle group without movement. I've been doing it for years for my arms, chest back and abs. Anecdotally, it seems to work for me. There are studies on wikipedia that indicate it might be helpful. I lift weights too, but isometrics is something you can do anywhere, like in the car on the way to the pool or beach. :)

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Isometric_exercise

I better start working out so I have some biceps to flex.

A useful topic

I find flexing, as in doing the flex repeatedly uncomfortable. What feels more "right" to the body, is doing a flex and holding it for a certain period in time. I am not in the deep end of the science behind muscle growth, but from own my experience while dieting (as in a complete fast) I dont feel like I want to engage my muscles in any physically demanding way. Maybe that changes with experience though.

Oh this is interesting, so i can add 12% growth to my muscle by flexing it, awesome, thanks for sharing this @dana-edwards

It use to think flexing was just for the fun and showing off really how stupid I've been

You weren’t stupid , you only do not have the knowledge at that time. Now you do

Flexing apparently has been shown to cause biceps to grow by 12%

Really , wow . Then what am I waiting for ? Gonna flex all day everyday. Thanks for the notification

I ask myself the same question .. is it possible? Well the scientists know what they say, but I know that the brain exercises by getting information. But I did not know that the human mind could make the muscles grow without physical exercise.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63252.23
ETH 3035.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73