Why I left my home country

in #life6 years ago

european-union-1204030_640.jpg

Why did I leave my home country?

I get asked this question especially when the person I talk to has recently visited my beautiful hometown of Krakow. Poland is a beautiful country with a strong culture of hospitality, amazing architecture, varied landscapes and great food to name but a few advantages. That said, all places seem amazing when one visits them for a much needed holiday break. It is only when you live and work somewhere permanently that you get to find out about its problems.

When people discuss immigration you often hear the term 'economic migrant' to describe people leaving less wealthy countries for the ones better off. I was born in Poland and moved to the United Kingdom in 2005 so I fit this category but I do not identify with the label because I left Poland for a number of reasons related to the culture and not the economy.

I felt and still feel that Polish culture isn't welcoming and accepting of who I am. As a result, I can not live there and be myself without experiencing different forms of prejudice, social exclusion and harassment in everyday life. I would also be at an increased risk of violence if I lived there, regardless of my income.

Religion

cross-2713356_640.jpg

Poland is around 90% Catholic and Christian values are considered by many crucial to Polish identity. Many people feel that government needs to reflect these values. Even if in theory Church and state are separate in Poland, the popular interpretation of religion informs almost everything, from interpersonal relationships to policymaking.

I began exploring philosophy and world religions when I was 11 years old. I found Taoism much more in tune with my personality and I refused going to church or attending religious education. It was considered a radical move by the majority of my peers, not to mention adults. I felt socially isolated because of it.

For my ultra Christian family, I was a traitor and a lost soul. My uncle told me that if I am not Christian I am not truly Polish. I consider religion a personal and somewhat intimate matter. I was getting tired of feeling like I have to explain myself. These kinds of statements made me question my identity. I didn't agree with my uncle's doctrine but I began realizing that as long as I live in a country where so many people feel like he does, it may as well be true.

Nationalism

poland-1758843_640.png

My grandparents were involved in Polish opposition during WWII and my Mum was part of Solidarnosc movement during the communist era. While my peers were watching cartoons and playing computer games, I was brought up watching national television, especially documentaries and films about war. Politics were a regular subject at the dinner table. My childhood was overshadowed by constant fear of 'the inevitable WWIII and Russian invasion'. The fear of losing independence and being annihilated is very much alive and there are good reasons for it.

What I found harder to cope with is Polish history. I think that for many people in the USA, UK and other wealthy nations nationalism is all about singing praises of your countries victories and its achievements. In Poland, its more about mourning the losses and recounting all the times Poland was invaded, exploited and stabbed in the back by nations claiming to be our friend and allies. Growing up and living with this is incredibly depressing.

Racism

No_to_racism.png

Racist views are very common in Poland. My grandad who fought the Nazis was at the same time anti-Semitic and openly racist against people of colour. I always felt deeply ashamed of that. When you grow up surrounded by racism you inevitably take some of it on board. When I lived in Poland I considered myself anti-fascist and anti-racist and yet I would make stupid racial jokes and think nothing of it.

Racism takes on a different flavour and shape in different places. In my opinion, the only way you can challenge your own racism is by moving abroad and experiencing other cultures first hand. Being part of a new community means you notice your own cultural hang-ups and can correct them. People who never left their home often have no way of recognising these kinds of patterns for what they are, so they go unchallenged. I wanted to experience the world and make up my own mind.

Sexism

767px-No_sexism_racism_homophobia.jpg

You may find women in Poland who claim that there is no sexism or more specifically misogyny in Poland. I wholeheartedly disagree based on personal experience and prevailing politics. The Polish government continues to make attempts at restricting abortion right but sexism isn't just felt in the political arena.

Going out to clubs often meant that I had to endure uninvited and unwanted advances of often older, smelly and drunk men who wouldn't take no for an answer. Stories of sexual exploitation and harassment were a norm in my social environment.

My father and grandfather were both women haters firmly believing in male supremacy. To give an example, my grandad believed that feminine sanitary products are waste of money and that I should wear an old rag in my pants instead. My dad believed that menstruating women should wear a red ribbon on the night out, to warn the males of their 'undesirable condition'. He also believed that women are naturally stupid and weak. This is a sentiment expressed by a Polish politician as recently as 2017. I was never actively encouraged to have a career and most of the comments were all about making myself attractive to men and being a good housewife.

I had many male friends when I was growing up but I was treated differently. I often ended up the only 'female' (more on that later) in the group. Men would refuse to shake my hand because I wasn't male. When my friends started talking about their sex life and I shared some personal information it often caused strange reactions as if people of genders other than male do not have sex or shouldn't mention it. There were definite double standards for most things. Looking back at it, my male friends felt really uncomfortable with me acting and being too much like them.

Homophobia and transphobia

Homophobic and transphobic behaviours go hand in hand with religious beliefs of many Poles and Poland is one of the worst countries for gay rights in the EU. Many people in Poland believe that it is OK to be gay as long as you keep it in the closet. This was a huge issue for me.

I and my LGBT friends had to fear violence regularly. I remember when someone put explosives in the local gay club, fortunately, no one was harmed but there were scorch marks left on the doors for weeks to come, not to mention the emotional impact on the community. The safest club was located in a basement, you had to know which buzzer to press to get in and that information was spread only through word of mouth. These precautions were necessary to ensure safety.

It isn't just gay people who get harassed. Some of my heavy metal friends were beaten up for 'looking gay'. One of them was pinned down by a group of skinheads who tried to force him to perform oral sex for them, simply because he had long hair. This kind of stuff was a norm back then and I doubt it is any different now. No one reports such assaults to the police because most likely they will do nothing about it. In certain areas, any association with the police causes more troubles than its worth. The violence is only a part of the problem.

I identified as male since early childhood but I was assigned female gender at birth and I consider myself a third gender. As I entered puberty I realised that I feel attracted to all genders. I was very open about my identity and sexuality. Others recognised me as being different. A lot of the sexism I experienced came from the fact that I was very 'male' in my behaviour. Often when I found myself in all-male company people would 'forget my gender' and address me as a male. I loved it. Most often they would get confused and try to correct themselves.

When my male friends would gossip to me about their girlfriends they would say things like 'you know but she is a girl'. I remember responding that I wouldn't do what this girl did and my friend said, yes but you aren't really a girl, you are something else. As sexist as that was I felt validated because it reflected a deeper truth about my identity.

I found that keeping long-term relationships with non-LGBT people wasn't possible. I was part of the social circle with my male friends but only to a point. I was never invited to go out for a night out with them like other (male) friends did. I guess my sexuality was confusing to them and made them feel uncomfortable. I just couldn't cope with being excluded because of it.

I will never return

When issues of immigration, and Brexit specifically, are discussed you often hear people say that EU citizens can just 'go back home'. The problem with this assumption is not just that for many immigrants their country of residence is their home. Contrary to the popular belief, people don't leave their families, friends and social circles without a good reason. Moving to a different country might be exciting but ultimately for most immigrants, it is not a matter of 'going on an adventure'. It is a well thought through, serious decision.

When I left Poland I knew I am never going to return. Brexit doesn't change my reasons for leaving. Poland is not my home, it hasn't been for all of my adulthood. If the UK can not be my home then I simply do not have one.


Image credits:
pixabay.com

https://pixabay.com/en/european-union-europe-travel-poland-1204030/
https://pixabay.com/en/cross-christ-faith-god-jesus-2713356/
https://pixabay.com/en/poland-country-europe-flag-borders-1758843/

wikimedia.org
no to racism
no racism sexism homophobia

Sort:  

@dana-varahi, if the UK doesn't want you, you can move to Germany or Hong-Kong....

Moreover, do you believe in Russophobia, all the lies we've heard and everything, what purpose will it serve Russia to invade Poland.
Last i remember, Russia warned Nazi Germany not to invade Poland, which they did and later paid for it through a soviet backlash which ended in Berlin.

Godspeed and Goodluck with your endeavours.

I hope the UK doesn't disturb your stay.

@pope1995 Thank you for reading and commenting.

There is a whole world to choose from out there. I am currently considering moving to Finland. :)

Russophobia is justified given the historical and current record of Russia being an aggressor. That said, there is a lot of misinformation floating around. It's a very complex issue and it's being used to manipulate global politics by many different factions in different ways. A good example is a both American and British government pointing finger at Puttin while making business with him behind the scenes.

Poland was invaded by both Russia and Nazi Germany in 1939. Russia and Germany signed a Molotov–Ribbentrop Pact. They had a secret agreement to divide Polish territories between themselves (which happened a few times before). Russian army killed and misplaced at least as many Polish people as the Nazis did during the war. Soviet Invasion of Poland

After the War when the map of Europe was redrawn at Yalta Confernece Stalin promised that there will be free democratic elections in Poland so Britain and USA agreed that a large part of Polish territory will be given to Soviets. The decision was made in secret, without the presence of Polish government. Stalin never honoured his promise of democratic elections and Poland ended up a part of Soviet Bloc against the wishes of its people. It's hard to say how many people died during the communist era and how many were misplaced. According to my family and many others, it was a nightmare to live through.

Why invade? Same as always, natural resources, political power etc. These days a lot of that happens through economy rather than military invasion but that options will always be available. The situation in Ukraine comes to mind.

We have ideas about where we want to move to. This will come out in future blogs. Germany isn't a bad choice. We already have online friends there. But we do have somewhere else in mind as a first preference...

It's unfortunate you had to leave your home country but also wonderful that nowadays we can. Hundreds or years ago, people wouldn't have that freedom of choice - let alone the option of jumping on airplane and going to another country. I hope you find happiness and acceptance wherever you end up. They will be lucky to have someone so open-minded.

Thank you @eitsky . I hope that freedom of movement will become a norm in the future and will be available for everyone, not just some of us. It's wonderful to be able to choose who is your family and where is home. :) The idea that we have to live in the place we were born in is as crazy as arranged marriage to me.

Not everyone has that option of course. And now the UK looks set to close its doors on free movement, and far right ideas on immigration are taking hold across the world to varying degrees, even to the extend of letting refugees drown in the med and criminalising those rescuing them. Future generations will find less opportunities to escape the plight they are born into as social mobility closes down.

Yes you're right. Some are more privileged than others. What's happening in the UK is bizarre but I can understand that people are uncomfortable with so many cultures coming and mixing together. It can almost seem like a threat to your very way of life.

I'm from Canada so I've grown up around multiple cultures. I'm open to the idea of immigration, especially with how large our country is. Though some are still closed off to the idea. Hopefully a solution can be found for the whole world sometime in the future.

I think that what we are seeing here is a massive discrepancy in views between generations. A shift back for the better is beginning, and it feels good to be a part of that.

Really great read about the "other problems" of Poland. It is a whole different story than the most you read in the newspapers and magazines.

Thank you! I am glad you found this interesting. It's definitely not something that people like talking about but its a part of reality.

I did, as we have lot of immigrants here too it is interesting to know the other reasons people move, not only economic reasons.
Our world are slowly moving towards more open-mindness, and as people move from the more restricted countries this could be a bad spiral for the country being left with more and more closed souls. But influence from foreign media and tourism will likely prevent this from happening in Poland.

Sorry I can't upvote you now, I'm out of vpower :(

I did, as we have a lot of immigrants here too it is interesting to know the other reasons people move, not only economic reasons.

Thank you for your willingness to listen/read.

I am not used to people showing respect for immigrants and their experiences. In Poland, a lot of people call me a traitor for leaving and in here they think I'm after their benefits.

Polish people are often targeted and singled out by the UK anti-immigration proponents. You would think that the experience of being prejudiced against would teach compassion, but just like here they speak of 'bloody Poles', in Poland they speak of 'bloody Ukrainians'.

It's impossible to have a dialogue with people who think like this and an open dialogue is precisely what is needed. Immigration is such a complex phenomenon. It's never as black and white as big media makes it out to be. The human element gets completely lost.

Do you mind me asking, were are you from?

I live in Norway. The east european people coming here is by my opinion seeking opportunity to build themself a good life, and they usually work hard too.

I still remember when I saw the first live negro in my life, I was tethered just stood there watching that rare black man walk down the street.
Times have truly changed since then.

Congratulations @dana-varahi! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Thanks for sharing valuable post.
I appreciate your post.
Best of luck

Thank you. :)

Shared as an update of our relocation fund gofundme: https://www.gofundme.com/international-relocation-fund

Thanks! :)

Because we can't assume everyone that reads our blogs has a steem account.

Great comments and good information.

Wonderful post.
I like politics.. thanks for sharing this post.
Best of luck

Thanks for reading and for the upvote. :)

Good post , thanks for sharing this post,
I like this post.. resteemit

poland is a very nice country, i wish and hope someday i will be there

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 69047.36
ETH 3739.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66