Do You Have Enough Supplies To Last A Month Or Two Quarantine?

in #life4 years ago

Looking at some of those people of China concerning the Coronavirus. Some are quarantined, but they may be running out of supplies. Even if your city does not get quarantined it would be a good idea to have supplies for such a thing.

I will admit and I have watched a lot of prepper video some years ago and have been storing here and there. There might not even be a quarantine, but it might be a flood where the flood water is mixed with the sewer water contaminating the water. Well, then you have a situation.

I remember watching on a news a flood and the stores were running out of water. You see when there is a situation then the water gets bought out in hours. You see you will have to prepare before the situation, it is much easier and cheaper that way.

I like to keep bottles of water, I won't drink it, but I have it stored. I also have four metal barrels, each with 55 gallons of water that I filled with my garden hose. Of course when I use that I will boil, cool down, then filter the water.

I use a gravity water filter. Those work out pretty good.

Canned food is a good store of food. Most cans can last past there "best by" date. Also if one didn't want to cook food that one can just open that can and eat the food right out of the can.

Of course if you are going to store cans then you better get a really good reliable can opener. I like the military type can openers. Sure it is slower, but it does open the can each and every time, for me anyway.

You can buy military can openers from ebay or Amazon. Electric can openers are nice, but what happens when there is not electricity?

One can even story dry grain, like rice. Maybe it would be a good idea to have a couple of 50 pound sacks of rice and maybe another 50 pound sack of beans. I also store split pea and lintels. I store them in plastic totes with covers to keep out the rodents.

With the Coronavirus spreading as it is, maybe it wouldn't be a bad idea to prepare for a month or two of quarantine where if comes to your city or not, at least you have some extra food and water if something happens.

Let's end with a scripture, The ants are a people not strong, yet they prepare their meat in the summer; Proverbs 30:25.

If you enjoyed this blog, please upvote and follow.
Thank you, David.

Sort:  

I have concerns with regard the information being disseminated about the deaths "caused" by the coronavirus. Many reports indicate that some people had no symptoms at the time of death... Which makes me wonder if they are inflating the mortality numbers in the same way they inflated the swine flu associated deaths (ya know, where the deaths jumped from less than 100 to well over 10,000 over night because of cause of death reclassification). Anyway, I 100% agree with your post!! We should all be prepared all of the time because whether its an out of control virus, fire, natural event, or terrorism... We are always just a moment away from having to fend for ourselves for a few days. Thanks for the post!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62875.98
ETH 2948.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55