Recycling Some Bottles And Cans

in #life6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20181008_153819308.jpg

These are some of the bottles and cans that I took to the recycling place. Yes, they are mostly beer bottles and cans. I have mentioned that I don't drink beer anymore. So where did I get these beer bottles and cans?

Well, they were given to me. Those bottles and cans are from the boys next door that do like to drink together every now and then, but they don't want to deal with the empty bottles and cans.

One day when after they had been drinking, I was trying to mow my lawn. There were bottles and cans the were on my side of the lawn, so I told my neighbor that it would be a good idea to put a big box out here to put in all the bottles and cans.

Well, the neighbor asked me to take those bottles and cans. Well, I knew that his mom would come by every now and then and pick them up to cash them in. So I mentioned, What about your mom that collects bottles and cans?

He told me that she is getting older now and that she has a hard time coming over to pick them up and offered me the bottles and cans.

So since then I have been collecting their bottles and cans. I have garden containers and a garbage can next to my house that they can put their bottles and cans in.

When I see they are getting full I start to process them. Well, I like to rinse them out with water. I really don't want to work with sticky bottles that smell like beer.

After I rinse them out I like to put them in garbage cans and cover them up. When I get a good size load, I will put them in the back of my 91 Chevy S10 pickup and take them to the recycling place like you seen in the picture.

I think the last time I when to the recycler was about 3 months ago. This time I brought more than last time. So at home I separated the clear glass from the brown glass.

So I had 2 containers full of clear glass and 1 container full of brown glass. I also had 1 container of plastic bottles and a container and a half of aluminum cans.

Well, that load brought me $39.30. I thought that was pretty good. I used some of that to get some groceries at the Curry's Store I like to go to.

If you enjoyed this blog please upvote and follow.
Thank you, David.
Image is mine taken with my Moto G.

Sort:  

Thats really a good job! We have people who collect plastic and glass bottles here from every street and thats their daily job. Some of them became really rich and made big businesses out of it.

Yes, I imagine people can make money doing this full time. Thank you @hanen!

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97