My First Steemit Meetup @ Newport Beach

in #life6 years ago

Southern California Steemit Meetup - May 6, 2018

I've only been a member of the Steemit community for a short time, but I've been astounded again and again by the sense of camaraderie and cooperation here.  In such a short time, I've become connected with like-minded people in the So-Cal region, united by our interest in cryptocurrency and the model with which Steemit is built upon.

It was the first time for me to meet some folks in person while enjoying the Spring sunshine here in California.

I joined the So-Cal Steemit Discord channel and saw @rt395 was proposing a meet up at Balboa Pier in Newport Beach.  I had never been out that far, but thought it would be a good opportunity to see new places and meet new people.  

It was a perfect day for it as well.  The temperature was a cool 72 degrees F with a gentle breeze rolling off the Pacific.  I had never been in this area, but I got a really pleasant feeling driving along PCH, passing by surfers and other beachgoers.

My partner in crime

I was accompanied by mini-me.  He stayed awake nearly the entire time, only conking out right as I was parking!  I let him sleep for a bit in the car while I got all of our gear together - packed lunches, toys, chairs...the whole 9 yards.  I roused him from his sleep and he was super cranky - natch - but mellowed out when he saw we were at the ocean.

The Guys

Left @derekrichardson Right @rt395

It was not hard to find the Steemitors as they were the only ones using the fire pit area.  

As I set mini-me up with bubbles to occupy himself, I got to know the guys a bit more.


They are both very knowledgeable about Steemit and were happy to answer my questions about it.  I still have a lot to learn, but I think I'm catching my stride.  The most important thing I gleaned from our conversations is that quality content is of utmost necessity.  Looking at it from another way, if one spams hastily created, low quality content in hopes of grinding their way to higher rankings, they're going to have a worse time than carefully thought out material that people actually want to read or see.

Thanks guys!

Last but not least - The Rocks


Toward the end, my companions brought out their rocks for discussion.  I had no idea I was in the presence of geophiles (is that a word?)!  It was actually quite cool and hobby I could see myself getting into.  When mini-me is a little older, I'd love to be hiking with him one day and casually point out "Oh that's fluorite." or "Wait! Don't step on that Chalcedony!"  

My big takeaway is how abundant, yet beautiful, quartz is.


All in all, it was a great afternoon.  @rt395 and I got to talk a bit about life in Japan and the crypto community there and @derekrichardson's hiking trips were great to hear about.  I'd love to attend another one of these in the near future.

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemitand join our group on Discord

Sort:  

It was great meeting you and your son @dbru. I look forward to meeting up again.

The rock collecting thing is a great excuse to get your son and your wife outdoors. My wife became as addicted to collecting as I am!

There are geological wonders all over California, many within a 2 hour drive from LA.

Cheers!

Looks like you guys had an awesome time at the beach! Hoping we can make the next one. Jealous you got to see the guys' rocks and have a private lesson, hehe.

This post was chosen to be featured in this weeks SoCal Spotlight!! Thank you so much for being part of our awesome #socalsteemit community.

socal nobear.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60986.03
ETH 2921.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57