It's all Green Grass

in #life6 years ago

yorkshire-2900064_1920.jpg

In the interest of full disclosure, this is a re-blog from another site of mine. :-)


For far to long, I feared this unseen force -Fear of missing out. This is not an original notion.

The grass is always greener on the other side of the fence right?
The internet created millions of yards and millions of fences that are filled with millions of crowds peering over them for something better that will affect their lives. I use to be one of them. I would far for the notion that I needed to be ever where and see everything. Like I had to consume content because it was there.

But Guess what I realized? I was missing out on many things everyday single moment of the day.

Hundreds of thousands of social media websites, blogs, and message boards books, people all jumping around for my attention.

On any given day I can consume maybe a handful of them at a time. I miss out on more content in a single day than could ever absorbed in a thousand life times.

Fear of missing out is a fallacy. At any giving moment I can choose what I wish to focus on and consume. My personal time is too damn precious to use with such haste and neglect. To often I fail to realize those wasted chunks of time will never return to me.

Instead of wasting time worrying and fearing what I might be missing out on I choose to focus on what is right in front of me: My Family, friends, my environment.

Just this morning, I savored a rich hot cup of coffee, I am wrote my own thoughts and observations while waiting for my son to wake up so I can focus on his (thousands) questions on life and toys and curiosity and I connected with the people I want instead of the dancing monkeys that shout out “LOOK AT ME, LOOK AT ME!” and yet I missed out on nothing.

So many beautiful moments of life surround me each and everyday. How many of those do I miss out on because I am too busy looking over the fence?

I can still check out social media, watch a video, view out a photo, read a story, send out a Tweet, connect…

It’s all in knowing what important in life.

I am no longer allowing that which does not serve me in a positive way to interrupt my mind and life. I Control what I consume and allow into my life.

Because, even if I do not notice it everyday… I am already standing in a wide open field of green grass.

Sort:  

Hello @deadmoonwrites, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00