Overview of my Yugo M92 AK Pistol.

in #life7 years ago

Here's the current set up on my Yugo M92 PAP pistol. I bought it from classicfirearms website a few years ago. Since then, I have changed quite a few things on the pistol and have got it close to where I want it now. The first thing I ended up getting for it was a new grip, I didn't mind the factory grip really, but it also was nothing special and I wanted something different. I ended up going with a US Palm AK grip that I picked up from PrimaryArms, it's very comfortable and fits nicely in my larger hands. The stippling on it isn't very aggressive or anything where it would bother you, but it's enough where it can help with sweaty or clammy hands while shooting. Overall I'm fairly happy with the US Palm grip, I like it slightly better than the Hogue AK grip I tried before, but I think I might end up picking up another SAW grip sometime in the future and swap them out. 

I ordered a Bulgarian type 74 style muzzle brake off Amazon that was made by CNCwarrior, I wanted to get something other than the cone booster and my first choice of the 4pc muzzle brake was out of stock at the time. I figured I would just go with a traditionally designed brake instead and paid around $42 for it shipped, I also grabbed my spring detent kit from CNC on Amazon for another $10 shipped. Everything worked perfectly, and it all installed very easily once I got the muzzlenut cut off with a dremel. I'm really liking the look of the brake with the pistol and I'm glad I went with it and would recommend it to anyone interested. 

The next thing I ended up doing was refinishing the handguards, which was a giant pain in the dick. I actually ended up having to re-refinish them because the first time I went through it they came out kind of crappy looking and just looked weathered and blotchy. I tried using just some Minwax Red mahogany stain originally, but I ended up getting a dark brown finish instead and wasn't very happy. So after a few hours of using stripping gel and sanding the finish out I got back to where I started almost. The second time I ended up picking up some Mccormick's red food coloring and using that for a stain. I did one coat of the dye then let it dry for 24 hours, then I ran it under some running water for a few seconds and wiped it down with a dry towel and let it dry. 

 Then I just started applying as many coats as I wanted making sure they dried in between, I probably did about 7 or 8 coats of dye in total. After the last coat I took a lightly damp towel and wiped it all down again and let it dry once more. I then started applying the wipe on Minwax Polyurethane I had, my process with this was just to wipe on very thin coats with a foam brush then sand it down with some 0000 steel wool in between every 2-3 coats. I applied 8 coats of the Polyurethane in total, I went with the semi gloss because I didn't want something too glossy. I'm very happy with how my handguards turned out, I was aiming for a slightly darker red color, but I am satisfied with the results. 

While I was refinishing the handguards I went ahead and ordered an adapter for the M92 which allows you to install an AR rifle or pistol buffertube to the pistol. I purchased it from USmachineguns right after it came off back order, it slips on similarly to the normal AK brace where it just goes in between the grip and the receiver of the gun where it's held in place by the grip screw. Installing it was a breeze, and it mounted flush to the receiver and feels very solid. The adapter has worked like it was suppose to work, I haven't had any issues with it so far and it seems like a solid adapter. I would recommend USmachinegun to anyone looking for adapters or parts that they stock, I got my order in about 10 or 11 days after ordering and the owner is very responsive to emails or questions. 

I grabbed a SB15 gen 2 pistol tube made just for the SIGtac brace, I ordered it from KAK and had it within about 4-5 days. It's a solid quality tube and I would recommend it for anyone looking for one for their AR. It caused a small issue with my adapter from USmachinegun, basically because the adapter is meant to be used with a castle nut securing the tube to the adapter. The only other way to help secure the tube to the adapter from loosening up is to take a small screw that comes with the adapter, put some loctite on the threads, and install it in the top of the adapter. I hoped I could install the tube with the adapter with no endplate since it didn't require a castlenut, but that caused the threads to protrude past the adapter and hit the back of the receiver. This is somewhat of a problem because it could cause marring and scratches on the back of the Yugo's receiver, I just ended up buying a Magpul ASAP sling plate to remedy this and keep the threads from hitting. 

Overall, this pistol kicks ass and is fun as hell to shoot. The only thing I know that I want to change on it now is adding on a red dot sight, as well an optic mount for it obviously so I can get a better sight system on it. Here's a parts list for anyone interested who didn't wanna read all of that, 

  • Yugo M92 PAP pistol
  • US Palm AK grip
  • USmachinegun M92 adapter
  • CNCwarrior Bulgarian 74 brake
  • CNC detent spring kit
  • KAK SB-15 Gen 2 pistol tube
  • Magpul ASAP sling plate
  • Magpul MS3 sling
  • SIGtac AR-15 pistol brace

Here's a bonus picture with a wonderful cat who was very curious of what I was doing :) 

I hope you enjoyed my post and if you did, please feel free to give me a follow for more future gun and knife related content! 

Sort:  

Nice, how's the recoil compared to a full size ak?

followed too, love guns keep um coming.

Thanks for the follow, man!

Recoil is not bad at all. Just about the same as a normal AK if anything. I think the muzzle brake helps quite a bit with it though, haha. Thing is like a dragon when you fire it. I've had several people stop shooting to come down to my range stall and see what the hell I was shooting.

Nice. Aks are a blast to shoot and cheap ammo.

Yep! It's hard to pass on 7.62x39 when you can pick up Wolf ammo for dirt cheap or a spam can tin. Speaking of 7.62, I miss when Mosins were dirt cheap and so was the ammo. Those were the days, haha.

Great weapon man, hope it brings you much joy :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62737.73
ETH 2925.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50