Overview of the (converted) Saiga AK rifle.

in #life7 years ago

I purchased this Saiga AK and had it converted a few years ago. I got it from Classicarms website and had my local LGS do most of the conversion for me, though I did a few things myself. I'm quite happy with how my Saiga is all set up now; I swapped out the Hogue grip I had on it previously for a Russian Molot grip made by Roninsgrips, the CSS Billet Quad Rail I had on it before, for an Ultimak gas tube rail and K-var OD green handguard (this was due to the fact of how heavy the quad rails made my rifle weigh, it was around 11 1/2lbs loaded where as now the rifle is at a little over 9 1/2lbs loaded). I also got a longer recoil pad for the ACE skeleton stock just to increase the overall length because I have longer arms, and the stock just felt a bit short for me while I was shooting. It does help quite a bit, but I'm thinking of looking into swapping for a longer stock in the future to make it perfect. The only other things I think that I'll change at some point on this rifle is possibly the sling setup (I'm not too sure what sling to go with if I do), the red dot sight for either an aimpoint H1 or T1 micro dot, and adding on a 74' front sight block so I can install a muzzle brake onto the rifle.  I'm quite happy with all the parts I've chosen for this rifle and they all function quite well. Everything feels solid and I think each piece of gear is well worth the money. 

I am currently running a Surefire G2X flashlight mounted in a VLTOR offset scout mount on the Ultimak rail. I plan on leaving the light on the rifle at all times, which is why I didn't get a QD mount for the rail instead of just the basic model. I also picked up a Primary Arms MD-06 micro dot and put it on the rifle, which gives me co-witness with the iron sights and is a very awesome budget red dot sight that runs for under $100. I also just threw some paracord onto the stock real quickly to help make it more comfortable to shoulder with cheek weld, plus it's helpful when shooting outdoors during the winter/spring so I don't have to put my face directly onto cold metal. I have put around 600 rounds through this rifle so far with no problems, except funnily enough the very first round ended up stovepiping. But, other than that, it's been a blast to shoot with at the range. It also shoots some massive fireballs on par with Mosin nagant carbines that I've shot in the past. Though it depends on the type of ammo used from my observations, I noticed it usually did it with the Wolf HP's and not with the more expensive FMJ Red Army brand ammo I was shooting.

And, on a side note, the Magpul PMAG that I picked up for my AK had a small defect from the factory. I ended up having to send it back to Magpul because the base plate of the magazine wouldn't budge for disassembly. I tried quite a few times to try and take it apart with my hands and something to push down the locking tab, as well as gently knocking on it with a rubber mallet while pressing down the tab and no cigar. I had several other people try to slide the plate off while pushing down the tab thinking maybe my wrists weren't strong enough, yet it was the same result. 

Magpul got back to me after they got it back, and basically said they got it off after a few minutes. It was a very tight fit because of some excess material on the magazine. They sent me a replacement magazine shown in the pictures which works fine, and came apart in seconds, so I'm happy overall with their product and service. Before I sent back the first one I put 120 rounds through it with no problem and it had run flawlessly. Although, I would recommend sticking with the Gen 2 mags over the first gen magazines. 

The other magazine shown is a Tapco brand magazine which I had some laser etching work done on. It was etched and made into an Alien themed magazine just for a novelty/gag for fun, because I fucking love the franchise, and figured why not. On one side there is the infamous Xenomorph, on the other side I took the logo from Hudson's armor along with my favorite quote from the second movie, and the floor plate has another quote I enjoy as well.

I chose to use a tapco magazine mainly because it's just a range mag and it was cheap. I'm pretty happy with how it came out and think it's a pretty cool little novelty item. I'd feel comfortable having more expensive magazines worked on as well after seeing how the etching took to it. Plus, having weird items along with me at the range is a good way to start conversations and make some new acquaintances ;)

 Here's a spec list for everything seen in the pictures.

  • Saiga rifle chambered in 7.62x39
  • Ultimak gastube rail mount
  • Primary Arms micro dot MD-06
  • Surefire G2X flashlight
  • Vltor Scount mount
  • K-var OD green handguard
  • ACE Stock with extended buttpad
  • DPH Folding mechanism
  • Molot grip from Roninsgrips
  • Magpul MS3 sling
  • Magpul AK PMAG
  • Sling swivel from CSS
  • Conversion kit from CSS
  • Tapco AK mag
  • Some random paracord I had laying around
  • Bolt on lower handguard retainer from CSS

Thanks for taking a look at this overview. If you liked this and would like to see more gun and knife related content, feel free to give me a follow! 

Sort:  

Nice blog. Just one quick recommendation; you should consider making your images a bit smaller -- people with a slow Internet connection would take about an hour to load this blog.

Yeah, I didn't even think about that. Thanks for bringing that up. I've just gotten used to having moderately fast internet and didn't even think of an issue like that.

Great writeup! It's clear that you put in a lot of time and effort into your AK, and it seems to have paid off. Looking forward to more gun and knife content.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64161.84
ETH 2950.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60