You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Girl With No Name

in #life5 years ago

We were surprised when my sister in law delivered a baby and they were not able to give her a name for 4 days. They just called her 'a baby'. It was so strange and we couldn't get used to it. I see that your parents took their time, lol :D Did you ever asked them how come that they were not able to choose a name for you? But that pastor was a funny guy :D Don't you have a name? I give you one :D But I must admit that Afiniki is a really nice name. I don't know why but it sounds Greek to me.

It's interesting to see tha the cultures are so different. We don't really care about meaning of names. You get a name that your parents like and that sounds good to them and that's it. We don't believe that it somehow forms your personality :) But I've heard that it's important in Africa and this is also what you confirmed.

Thank you for sharing! It was a very nice story :)

Sort:  

Lol! 'Baby" was what they called me all those while too, or sometimes our clan name (it is a general name used by people of the clan).

My Mum's pregnancy was a high risk one, so I guess they were more worried about the safety of the Mum and Baby than the name. For the rest of the time, they probably were trying to find a "perfect name". Lol!

Once, when I was a bit younger, I heard my older uncles talking about this second cousin of mine who has had a " hard life". What got them talking was that, he found out in the morning of his wedding that the lady he wanted to marry aborted a pregnancy a week before or so, which wasn't his (according to her), he was still okay with getting married to her though, but she said she didn't wanna get married to him anymore, which left him devastated....

While they were talking about him, I heard one of the Uncles say, "have you forgotten that his name is Ngita?" (It means endure), so basically, he was just living true to his name.... Her has to endure stuff... Lol! I don't believe such things though.....

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahaha, a baby seems like a very original way to call your little one when you don't have a name yet :) But I understand now that they were more worried about other things than your name in this case..

Oh poor guy! I think it must be hard to live wish such name if you believe these things. If you're convinced that you have to endure stuff then you will call such stuff on yourself. You know it's like you get whatever you're focusing on.. not sure if I like this kind of superstitions.. but I think each culture has something strange :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59236.59
ETH 2995.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73