My first time using crypto as a real medium of exchange

in #life5 years ago

Well, it sure has been a long time hasn't it Steemit? I really do still remember the first time I found this place. I came straight from Youtube and signed up for an account, back in the good old days when there were less than 17,000 people around here. It was so exciting, and new, and fun!!! I had been aching to find a way into the crypto currency scene, I wanted to learn about it, to have it, to do things with it!!! But it was terrifying. How could I justify spending real money on this stuff, even though I had relative financial security at the time, and probably should have invested in hindsight.

Well I didn't, instead I found Steemit. A miraculously free way to get into crypto currency. And wouldn't you know it, I struck digital gold. One of my very first posts got upvoted by bernie himself. And just like that, Steemit became my digital cocaine. It was real, this thing was real, wow.

Well I posted and posted and posted and posted some more. I had a ton of content to put up, I've been a professional photographer for over seven years. Throw in a bunch of travels into that and you've got a lot to post about, so I did. I didn't make much aside from my big score early on, but gradually I started to get a bit of a following. Then it happened one day, I started getting upvoted on the regular by some big accounts, I was even on Ned's list at one point, crazy.

Well I kept posting as the price kept dropping, and because the price kept dropping and I kept getting upvoted, I ended up gathering quite a nice little chunk of SP. Then things got busy, and I stopped posting for a while, and I got dropped from those sweet sweet auto vote lists. I squandered it.

Oh well, I did pretty good, and hey, life happens man, at least I got what I got.

Oh, and along the way, I started gathering up by SBD payouts and transferring them to exchanges too.

I'd buy some LTC here, some ETH there, this altcoin, that altcoin, it was fun man. It was cool to learn about all this new stuff, to be a part of it, and it was amazing to me that I was able to gather up this little mole hill of crypto coins basically for free. Was I some type of professional blogger at this point? hahaha.

Well I ended up with a little bag of coins, and it was awesome.

Then I promptly got super busy and forgot about it again.

But it was always in the back of my mind, these coins I'd earned and gathered, I should do something with them.

So recently I started playing around with trading, with a goal of earning 1% per day, and though I'm not making my goal at the moment, I've been averaging about .5% per day, which isn't too bad.

I mean I'm not making anything even close to being able to support myself, more like beer money every other day, but it's a start, and you know, compounding growth, or whatever.

Well the point is I've been back in the crypto world for a bit... sort of.

So anyhow we are officially moving all of our stuff out of Vancouver and making the jump to Spain full time, so we had to come back here and clean out our apartment, sell all our stuff, get rid of things.

I've been going on a spree of selling old stuff, shelves, electronics, cameras, and since Craigslist gives you the option to tick a little box that says "Accepts Crypto" I've obviously been doing that for every post.

I've been throwing a little humour and attitude into my posts too because, well why not? And today it happened. My silliest post for my most expensive item, my beloved Nikon D3S really caught someone. They offered my the LTC they had in their wallet, a bit of ETH they had lying around, and a touch of cash to bring the price up to what I was asking.

How could I turn it down? I sold my beloved camera that has followed me around the world for the past seven years for crypto. Man I was smiling and laughing and just having an awesome time. This stuff really works man, at least it really can, and that was wicked cool for me to see in real life. My first tangible crypto exchange, it was great.

I just had to post it here, where it all started for me.

Oh and if you're interested, here's the Craigslist post that got the camera sold, I put the sell price at $1,000,000 because that's basically what this camera is worth to me. Got slightly less, about $450 CAD, but it was worth it.

FOR SALE: Nikon D3S Camera, if you can even call it that

Seriously, have you ever seen one of these in real life? Have you ever held one in your hands? Have you ever felt the power? I have, and let me tell you, it's seriously hard to let go of. You can't even really call this a camera man, it's more like a thundering war horse, a panzer tank, Thor's hammer...

It's been around the world man. Vietnam, Cambodia, Thailand, China, Italy, Switzerland, France, Mexico, USA, Portugal, Ireland, Denmark, Netherlands, etc, and it's got the scars to show it (see photos). Not that any of that matters to a camera, but it matters to me man. The things this camera has seen, the things it's shown me. Life man, this little wonder machine magic box has seen so much life, it's shown me so much life. It's bringing me to tears man.

I bought this beautiful, mythical machine for $4,000 (USED! LoL) and it was worth EVERY. SINGLE. PENNY. Heck, it was worth more than that, way more, and I knew it, I still know it, it was a steal back then. I couldn't believe it was mine, I felt like I was in a dream. To hold this beauty, wow man.

It's literally been through rain and snow, more times than I can count, more times than I can remember thinking "I wonder how wet this baby has to get to start malfunctioning?" Turns out the answer is wetter than I could ever get it, yeah, you read that right, I'm not man enough to handle this thing, neither are you, but you're welcome to try. It always made me feel inadequate, but I didn't care. I had it, for some crazy reason, I had it. It's been literally underwater (you know, in a housing, but still) it's been to the rainforest, it's been to the desert, it's been on top of more mountains than I can remember. It's been outside the window of several helicopters, over the sides of trucks barreling down dusty foreign roads, out the sunroof of I don't know how many limos, over the edge of cliffs, oceans, you name it man. And you know what's crazy? It STILL WORKS!!! It still works like a freaking dream man!!!

I could run through specs for you nerds, but you know what this is and what it can do. FPS, sensor, ISO (the first to break the 100,000 barrier baby!!) focus tracking, dual card slots, you know the deal.

This little slice of heavenly joy has never let me down, not once. Never corrupted a card, never missed a frame, I don't even think I've ever seen a corrupted image out of it! Yeah it's got a hot pixel or two, I think three actually, but it's had those for literally years, and you don't even notice because LR just spots them and auto clones them out. I haven't seem them in years. Battery life on this little bunny is to infinity and beyond man, I'd shoot a whole day, literally 3,000 images, still rockin 25% at then end of the day, just bring it man.

I don't even mind tire kickers yo, I know you just want to come look at this beauty, and I don't blame you. Stop on by and bask in it's glory for a little, hold it in your hands, feel the power, you know you want to...

Seriously though, I never thought I'd sell this camera. It's been a part of my life for so long I don't even remember what life was like before it, but the fact is I haven't used it in over a year. It's sad for me to say that man, but it's true. I loved this beautiful machine the entire time I had it, and it breaks my heart to let it sit in a box. I need someone to take this camera and enjoy it, have fun with it, take photos with it. It cries out to me man, "Take me somewhere crazy and take photos! I need to see the world man!!"

You can see the photos, it's got bumps and dings, scratches and brassing, the rubber grip is doing that thing that Nikon's do, the HDMI cover needs to be taped down. But the screens are perfect, it's had the protector on since day 1, and you can take that off if you want. No cracks or anything like that, just the usual signs of love and adventure. Comes with original Nikon battery, which still lasts a long time, but it's on age 4 and would need replacing in the next year or so depending on use (they are cheap on amazon these days), also original Nikon dual quick charger and cable. CF slots are both functioning perfectly, and I'll include two brand new Sandisk Extreme pro (160 MB/s) 16GB cards so it's locked and loaded, ready to rock. Heck, the battery's even charged man. Really everything on this camera functions as it should. Shutter count is 252882, which means this camera is just past half of it's projected life span, yeah, it's rated to 400,000 actuations. I couldn't get it there, but I sure did try. Can barely believe I've taken over a quarter of a million photos with this thing, and it's still well within it's lifespan. Wow man, a quarter of a million photos...

All jokes aside, this is an incredible piece of engineering. It's a joy to hold and use. It will never let you down, it never has for me. Yeah, for real, I know what it's worth, in money, but I wanted you to know what this thing is worth to me. I don't know why, I just needed to let it out, I honestly never thought I would part with it, I never knew where this thing would take me, the things it would show me. I hope it can take you somewhere, and show you something, it would break my hear for it to not die the way it lived, going on adventures and taking great photos.

Have you really made it this far? How about $500? Or best offer. Better yet throw me a couple Ethereum, LTC, EOS, STEEM, whatever crypto you use, I'll even take Dogecoin.

Really, make me an offer, but only if you mean it. Only if you really want to take photos. You'll never regret owning this beauty. I never did.

CL Photos-8.jpg

CL Photos-9.jpg

CL Photos-10.jpg

CL Photos-12.jpg

CL Photos-13.jpg

CL Photos-14.jpg

CL Photos-15.jpg

CL Photos-16.jpg

CL Photos-17.jpg

CL Photos-18.jpg

CL Photos-19.jpg

CL Photos-20.jpg

CL Photos-21.jpg

Sort:  

So good to see you after such a long time miss you posts :)

@dexter-k You have received a 100% upvote from @intro.bot because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Congratulations @dexter-k! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 115000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 120000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @dexter-k! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Dear @dexter-k

APPICS is a next-generation social media app that rewards you for posting pictures and videos online!

I'd like to invite you to our fully functional testnet for iOS and Android, where you can simply login with your steemit account and start getting rewarded for your passion .

If you are on iOS, please visit https://ios.appics.com and download the app from there. If you are on Android, please send us an email to [email protected] from your google play store email address so that we can invite you exclusively!

Team APPICS

Visit our Website: https://appics.com/

Join us on Telegram: https://t.me/appics_official

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64168.03
ETH 3172.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84