You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Free Votes For Sale! Get Your Free Votes Here! For An Unlimited Time Only I Have Free Votes For Sale!

in #life6 years ago

I am so incredibly honored and excited about the fact that you have been following me all this time and that I FORGOT (missing mind, see other comments), and that you have all these nice compliments to say about me as a result! Thanks so much for your support, for your help in my early Steemit days, and for your support now! I really appreciate it, its filled the hole where my missing mind was up with inspiration and validation feelings. Or thinkings. Maybe minds just think? Hearts feel? I dont know. Just... Thank you!!!

Sort:  

You're welcome. I wasn't always able to get to each and every post of yours, so I thought maybe a mention would make up for some of that. I enjoy the things you share. That "armed strawberry" joke written on the wall picture you took still cracks me up. I stopped in yesterday, then later started brainstorming. "Where did I meet this one? Oh yeah! That dumb free votes for sale post I did." I have a feeling some of my following will enjoy your work, so I hope this helps.

Ahhh! haha i loved that graffiti so much , and I mostly just got groans every time I spammed it in Discord chat, haha. Yeah we definitely have a similar sense of humor, I think your posts are hilarious. And the free votes thing is super funny, and its also awesome because its sincere. I am amazed I was the only one to say sure, pick me! Yay that worked out! :) I want to follow some of your followers, too.. I am looking to keep meeting more people and see more of Steemitland..

There are plenty of awesomes here. Great people, everywhere. I'm always left scratching my head when I hear these rumors of "low quality content." If you didn't already know, the big bossman, Ned himself, he was cornered by a reporter on TV and that reporter said, "low quality content," and, "people just chasing a quick buck."

If only they knew the truth.

I'm going to get a bit opinionated here, but whatever. The people come first, and their content is part of them. I'm weird, and on the side I enjoy motovlogs on youtube. I like motorcycles and enjoy the scenery. If the one talking isn't at least interesting or entertaining, I won't enjoy that motovlog, even though it's a motovlog and I like motovlogs. The people are important and I think when I vote, I think I'm voting half for the person and half for what they decided to share that day. So even on their worst days, I still want to support them. Wow, I'm rambling. I think I made at least a bit of sense though. Basically when they say "low quality", I'm hearing low quality people, and that bothers me, because I've met more great people here than I have anywhere else in my life.

I totally agree with you. I think the low quality thing comes from what can be found on the trending and new pages. It is pretty difficult when you first come to Steemit, to find the thriving, creative, vibrant communities that are here. There's a lot of stuff to sift through, and its like going through a Labyrinth with only some riddles and breadcrumbs as your guide. Because I enjoy puzzles and surprises, I thoroughly enjoyed that experience and was pretty hooked BECAUSE of that challenge, but most people will just take two seconds, look, and then leave based on the weird stuff on the main page.

I mean, I still think it is a bit of work to find like minded souls here. You have to dig, search, explore... again, I like that process, but in all honesty sometimes I just don't have time, and I have been falling out of touch with some of the developments here that I normally would be totally interested in and thrilled by.

But I agree with you, I have never found such a robust community of people anywhere, ever in my life either. Steemit has helped me get out of my confirmation-bias bubble, I have been able to cross paths with people that the rest of the Internet seems geared toward separating me from. I like that the culture here is to try and find common ground and shared interests with others, rather than go out looking for a fight ( ok some people here do go out looking for fights, but that is easy to ignore if you want to, which I do ignore it).

I wish the home page was way more user friendly so that people could find the treasures here much more quickly. But maybe its good its a little hidden too? Maybe thats a strength as much as a weakness. Hard to say.

I once compared how people find our blogs to the old music store model. I can't remember exactly how I worded it but it's much like how you stumble across a record, the cover catches the eye, never heard of that band, take it home and it turns out to be the best sound you ever heard. Then other people hear it and want their own copy. Something like that.

That business model actually worked quite well for a few decades before it became what it is today. I think I prefer to find what I like rather than being fed what I might like by some robot and a few algorithms.

I also enjoy being able to open my mind more and experience different walks of life through these blog posts. Facebook wasn't showing me pictures from every continent. I was seeing the same crap I always saw as if people were experiencing the same day over and over again. Nobody was a telling a story in public on that platform and I think it's because they're too worried about being judged by their peers. Here, many of us just lay it all out there in the open. It's quite refreshing. Feels more realistic.

As for that trending page and a few other problems here. I was only half joking in my post when I said I was lurking around and reading about the issues. Really, there are two options. We can sit around and wait for those in charge to change things, or we can decide on our own to be the change we want to see.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63648.37
ETH 3125.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87