You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I'm Having a (Never Ending?) WTF Moment

in #life7 years ago

I have a more fatalistic view of humanity and war.

It's great that such a huge number of people value peace. But humans are emotional beings. Some of those emotions elicit violence.

So combat on a local level (one on one fist fight) and a global level seem inevitable.

Even "peaceful" times are dotted with skirmishes big and small globally.

It's not my belief you can take war out of the human race and leave behind something which can be readily identified as human.

For all it's inhumanity war is perhaps the most fundamental of human endeavors. For we love our tribe, but that love instills a distrust and disdain for the other.

I wrote The Allegory of the Trees some time ago. I'd like to hear what you think of it.

Sort:  

Okay, I'll try to read it today or in the next couple of days and make a comment.

Very generous of you. Thank you.

I've read it. Allegory aside - pretty obvious, right? - trees send a different message, in real life. Othen than that, you described a society where the common level of consciousness is Muladhara chakra, or the root chakra - with all its specifics, harmonious (less of that, in your text) and perverted (an abundance of that, in your text). I feel neutral towards your post - while I appreciate your descriptive power, the message gives me the creeps. :D

I appreciate you took the time. Giving the creeps is provocative so I'll accept that :)

I heard in interviews that when Neil Peart wrote the lyrics for "The Trees" he thought it would be humorous to envision trees acting with all the absurdity of human beings. Therefore the trees are meant to be people. The tree analogies sugar coat a hard pill to swallow.

My goal was to expand what he already started.

"Therefore the trees are meant to be people." - yes, I got that.
"My goal was to expand what he already started" - you did it - good writing, like I said, I appreciated the skill. I still maintain it gave me the creeps :)))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65955.88
ETH 3055.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69