Social Media is Destroying Today's Generation

in #life7 years ago

Social Media is Destroying Today's Generation

Social media. The craze of the past decade or so. It seems that everyone and their grandma is on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram these days, and most people seem to think that social media is the next best thing after sliced bread. Well, let me tell you: it isn't.

You see, social media services aren't really "social". Yup, despite this highly popularized term becoming standard, these sites make people much less likely to actually be social. They make you get a nice glowy feeling inside because of how awesome you think your selfie is because it got like ten likes and then you get so addicted to posting and reading other people's posts that you nearly ever actually socialize in real life. Even at social events where there's the opportunity to socialize like normal human beings everyone seems to be just taking selfies and using their phones all the time.
These companies are making millions from you just sitting there, withering away while the world passes you by because you just can't miss what Abby posted about her relationship with Brandon or what the Kardashians are up to.
Many people have said this, and I'll also say it even more so because I am part of this generation by birth: this generation is the "me me me" generation. The foundation of it is self satisfaction and disregard for others. It's all about taking pictures of me and posting it on my Facebook page to inflate my ego because posting images of myself on this little metal device is fulfilling.
Now don't get me wrong, I want to see people fulfilled. But I what I don't want to see is a generation that completely pushes away normal human socializing and interaction. Gone are the days of sitting around the coffee table and sharing stories of your day with family and friends. Gone are the days of actually caring enough about someone to make time for them in your "busy" schedule (which has about four hours allowance for social media) when they're going through tough times or just wanna talk. Where is the feeling of compassion for others? We focus so much on ourselves and our own image that we completely disregard others.
Families are falling apart. Why? There is not enough genuine human communication between them. Kids prefer to go home and sit on their phones watching random crap. Parents do the same.
Seriously people, get a grip on yourselves. Can't you see that this whole "me" and social media mentality is destroying us?

Sort:  

Thanks buddy for reminding us.
A lot of people have become so engrossed in social media that they forget their names when called upon.

I hate facebook, its so freaking annoying!!!!

Whereas SteemIt is a total different story. You do what you like best BLOGGING and still get paid sitting at your homes.I love the transparency bro, keep it up. The internet is full of bullshit, be you and your followers and friends will be real. Reason why sites this will boom and Facebook, insta, twitter will flood out with all the fake crap. @dhumphrey

This is very well written and I totally agree with you! It's very sad to see people at a party or dining with family where everyone is on their phone. I hope this will change one day, but I really doubt it will since most children these days are growing up thinking this is the norm. Thank you for your post, I'm looking forward to reading more of your content. :)

Social media is film shot where users put there drama

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69115.56
ETH 3736.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66